

HR0527 LRB094 12604 MKM 47344 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION 2 WHEREAS, The Illinois Commerce Commission issued an order 3 in April, 2005 establishing an "overlay" of a new 730 area code 4 to supplement the telephone number supply in Illinois' 618 area 5 code; and The Federal Communications Commission 6 (FCC) 7 currently requires 11-digit dialing when an overlay area code 8 is implemented; and 9 WHEREAS, Wireless portability went into effect 10 November, 2003; customers may now port their wireless number from one carrier to another and may also port their land line 11 number to a wireless carrier; with the advent of inter-modal 12 13 portability, the line of distinction between "wireless" and 14 "wire line" numbering resources was erased and, with it, the viability of a "wireless only" overlay; and 15 16 WHEREAS, In 1996, Ameritech Illinois (now SBC) proposed to the FCC an area code overlay for wireless telephones; and 17 WHEREAS, The State of Pennsylvania (in 1998) and the 18 Citizens Utility Board (in Illinois in 2001) petitioned the FCC 19 for a waiver of 11-digit dialing in an overlay environment; and 20 21 WHEREAS, On December 29, 2001, the FCC reversed its 22 long-standing opposition to wireless-only overlays, signaling that the Commission is potentially reconsidering its area code 23 24 policies; and 25 WHEREAS, Implementing a new area code in the 618 overlay for only new wireless telephone subscribers would relieve 26 27 current telephone subscribers within the 618 area code from the

need for 11-digit dialing; therefore, be it

28

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we urge the Federal Communications Commission to provide a waiver from implementing the new 730 area code for current telephone subscribers and to restrict the implementation of the 730 area code to new wireless telephone subscribers in the 618 overlay who have not exercised their portability option; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to the Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, the Chairman of the Illinois Commerce Commission, and each member of the Illinois congressional delegation.