

HR0673

LRB094 14371 HSS 49300 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Throughout most of World War II, the USS
3 Indianapolis served as the Flagship of the Fifth Fleet in the
4 Pacific under the command of Admiral Raymond A. Spruance, U.S.
5 Navy; during her career in the Pacific, she earned a total of

6 10 Battle Stars; and

WHEREAS, After safely delivering the world's first operational atom bombs to Tinian Island, she was sent to join the assembling invasion fleet at Leyte Gulf; halfway between Guam and Leyte, at 14 minutes past midnight on July 30, 1945, the Indianapolis was struck by two torpedoes of a spread of six, fired by the submarine I-58 of the Imperial Japanese Navy; and

WHEREAS, The Indianapolis was mortally wounded, and everywhere men were killed, seriously burned, and maimed; within 12 minutes, while brave men struggled to hand out life vests, drag wounded shipmates, and scramble topside, the Indianapolis sank quietly beneath the surface of the Pacific; and

WHEREAS, Of the ship's company of 1,197 men and one passenger, the survivors estimate that about 800 made it into the water and relative safety, where the dangers were just beginning; fuel oil coated the sea and blood from the wounded attracted sharks; lack of water and food caused many to hallucinate, to fight among themselves, and to go mad; for five days, the men struggled until they were finally discovered, and only 318 remained to be rescued; and

WHEREAS, The sacrifice of the USS Indianapolis has been honored by our nation with a national memorial located in Indianapolis, Indiana, dedicated on August 2, 1995; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Thirty-two citizens of Illinois survived the
- ordeal, including Maurice Bell, Russell L. Brandt, John K.
- 3 Bullard, Curtis H. Burton, Norman S. Galbraith, Edgar A.
- 4 Harrell, Harlan C. Havener, Joseph F. Hubeli, Gust C. Katsikas,
- 5 Walter Kazmierski (Kay), Oliver W. Kenly, Michael N. Kuryla
- 6 Jr., Ralph Lane, George E. Laws, Arthur L. Leenerman, Robert A.
- 7 Lucas, Donald C. McCall, Robert M. McGuiggan, Anthony F. Maday,
- 8 Chester J. Makaroff, Farrell J. Maxwell, Herbert J. Miner II,
- 9 Troy A. Nunley, John Olijar, Richard A. Paroubek, Herbert A.
- 10 Rehner, Earl Riggins, John A. Schmueck, William E. Simpson,
- 11 Andre Sospizio, Daniel F. Spencer, and Charles M. Turner; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, just 14 men from Illinois remain that
- miraculously survived the sinking of the Indianapolis; ten
- 14 reside in Illinois and four in other states; they include
- Maurice Bell (Alabama), Edgar A. Harrell (Tennessee), Troy A.
- 16 Nunley (Florida), Richard A. Paroubek (Virginia), Gust C.
- 17 Katsikas, Michael N. Kuryla Jr., George E. Laws, Arthur L.
- 18 Leenerman, Robert A. Lucas, Donald C. McCall, Robert M.
- 19 McGuiggan, Herbert J. Miner II, Earl Riggins, and Andre
- 20 Sospizio; therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 22 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 23 we honor the men that fought for our country during World War
- 24 II and miraculously survived the sinking of the USS
- 25 Indianapolis; and be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 27 presented to each of the remaining survivors as an expression
- of our esteem.