

HR0760

1

LRB094 14936 BDD 50013 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Energy, environmental protection, and economic 3 development are essential components for growth and an improved 4 quality of life for all citizens of this nation; and

5 WHEREAS, E85 fuel, which is motor fuel made from a blend of 6 15% gasoline and 85% ethanol, is a renewable form of 7 alternative transportation fuel that enhances agricultural 8 profitability, advances environmental stewardship, and 9 promotes national energy independence; and

of E85 fuel 10 WHEREAS, helps reduce The use American dependence on foreign oil, and, because Ethanol is produced 11 from crops grown in the United States, it can also help 12 13 stabilize commodity prices; and because E85 is a viable, 14 home-grown alternative to gasoline, E85 fuel provides competition, which is good for consumers; and 15

WHEREAS, E85 fuel has the highest oxygen content of any 16 transportation fuel available today, making it burn cleaner 17 than gasoline; fewer exhaust emissions result in reduced 18 19 production of smog and a decline in respiratory illness associated with poor air quality; E85 fuel also reduces 20 greenhouse gas emissions, such as carbon dioxide, the main 21 22 contributor to global warming, as much as 39% to 46% compared 23 to gasoline; and

24 WHEREAS, Flexible fuel vehicles are vehicles that are 25 capable of operating on E85 fuel, and the use of these vehicles 26 may be a major component in our nation's steps toward energy 27 independence; accordingly, the United States Congress should 28 encourage the use of these flexible fuel vehicles; therefore, 29 be it

30 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE

HR0760 -2- LRB094 14936 BDD 50013 r
NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
we urge the Congress of the United States of America to pass
legislation to provide federal income tax incentives for the
purchase and use of flexible fuel vehicles; and be it further

5 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 6 delivered to the President pro tempore of the U.S. Senate, the 7 Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, and each member 8 of the Illinois congressional delegation.