

HR0021 LRB095 06165 KXB 26259 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

20

WHEREAS, The Sacred Heart-Griffin High School football 2 3 team, the Cyclones, of Springfield, Illinois, won the 2006 IHSA 4 Class 5A State Championship on Saturday, November 25, 2006; and 5 WHEREAS, The Cyclones defeated Marian Central Catholic of 6 Woodstock in the State finals with a score of 35 to 14; and 7 WHEREAS, Sacred Heart-Griffin became the first football 8 team in the history of the Central State Eight Conference and 9 in the city of Springfield to win back-to-back State titles; 10 and 11 WHEREAS, The Cyclones had a perfect record the last two 12 seasons, finishing both seasons with a total of 28 wins and no 13 losses; and 14 WHEREAS, Head Coach Ken Leonard led the Cyclones during the 15 2006 season; he was assisted by John Sowinski, Jim McMann, Neal Taylor, Bob Brenneisen, Jason Killday, Steve Gumble, John 16 17 Allison, Ted Wise, Tom Fiaush, Sam Hott, and Chris Barham; Pete Stoll was the team trainer; and 18 19 WHEREAS, The members of the championship team were Mike

Stieren, Stephen Hott, Rob Mosher, Thomas Kennedy, Gary Wilson,

17

therefore, be it

- 1 David Kavish, Bobby Brenneisen, Dominic Walton, Kevin Klemm, 2 Shaughn Reid, John Lantz, Alex Kararo, Joe Marrin, Tim 3 Dondanville, Grant Anderson, Brian Remini, Chris Peterson, Josh Gossard, Colin O'Marro, Scott Kren, Mike Edwards, Keenan 4 5 Gilpin, Joe Geiger, Jack Duncan, Mitch Murphy, Leonard Hubbard, 6 Collings, Tommy Jennings, Aaron Peterman, 7 Selvaggio, Kelby Jasmon, Blake Pranger, Zach Moore, Matt 8 Satore, Jason Moore, Dillon Thomas, Jacob Wilmot, Kevin 9 Dallavis, Casey Daley, Sean Johnson, Nick Thoele, Derek French, 10 Dan Schafer, Jeremy Bertoni, Nick Varney, Matt Mast, Shawn 11 Young, Tim Stevens, Jeremy Adams, Matt Israel, Chad Russing, 12 Higdon, Victor Kimberlin, Ryan Hillsted, Brian Zach Fitzgerald, Adam Nudo, Brandon Dixon, Donovan Kavish, 13 14 Fitzgerald, Tanner Sommer, Matt Magowan, Jared Dodd, Capestrain, Ryan Butler, Steve Begando, Mitch Luster, John 15 16 Felchner, Mike Loscher, Zach Boente, and Jon O'Daniel;
- 18 RESOLVED. ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 19 20 congratulate the Sacred Heart-Griffin Cyclones football team 21 on a successful season and on winning the 2006 IHSA Class 5A 22 State Championship; and be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 24 presented to each coach and team member as an expression of our

1 esteem.