

HR0088 LRB095 10841 KXB 31105 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to honor the Mustangs of St. Rita 4 of Cascia High School who won the Class 7A State Football 5 Championship on November 25, 2006; and

6 WHEREAS, The Championship game ended with a score of 35 to
7 21 in favor of St. Rita over Lake Zurich; The Mustangs won the
8 first three State playoff games with a combined score of 114 to
9 41 over O'Fallon, St. Charles North, and Morgan Park-Chicago;
10 and

WHEREAS, St. Rita won the semi-final game in a thrilling 34 to 31 victory over Providence Catholic; St. Rita finished the 2006 season with an impressive record of 13-1; St. Rita had previously won a State championship 28 years earlier, in 1978; and

WHEREAS, The Mustangs were encouraged and supported by President and Principal Reverend Thomas McCarthy, OSA, and Athletic Director Bob Conlon; the team was led by Varsity Head Coach Todd Kuska; Assistant Coaches Ray Bugal, Lance Kenzinger, John Nee, Bill Lynch, Kevin Carberry, J.J. Standring, Terry Quinn, Joe Urchak, and Dan Schaller; student managers are Bob Hanley, Brian Foran, Tom Qualter, and Andy Smialek; and

1 WHEREAS, The members of the Mustangs are Matthew Carney, DeOnté Hood, Ralph Gliwiak, Darieon Hood, Clifford Moore, 2 3 Steven Byrne, John Sullivan, Daniel Jilek, Sean Estand, Peter 4 Balsam, Brendan O'Dwyer, Michael Riordan, Jason Kafka, Earnest 5 Green, Lawrence Garrett, Stephen Atkinson, Stephen Flaherty, Love, 6 Cornfield, Antwan David Marciano, Daniel 7 Schumacher, Daniel Dispensa, D'Marcus Dullen, Robert 8 O'Connell, Alex Vitkausas, Randall Shannon, William O'Brien, 9 Steven McGowan, Abel Villarreal, John Rowan, Mark Omastiak, 10 Nicholas Oboikovitz, Alan Ross, Gerald Ponio, Jr., Christopher 11 Kocanda, Andy Wilson, Matthew Lostroscio, Martin Hopkins, John Crotty, Brian Popek, Kenneth Stoklosa, Matthew Murphy, Sean 12 13 Leslie, John O'Connor, James Fitzgibbon, James Sojka, Lenny Wheeler, Timothy Arundel, Thomas Harney III, Sean Halloran, 14 15 Rashad Spells, Thomas Chladek, Vincent Harrison, 16 Bukowski, Luke Knibbs, Mozar Jerome, Matthew Munizzi, Michael Mullen, Sean Gleason, William Slawson, Patrick O'Malley, 17 18 Daniel Patrick, Jason Kazlauskas, Edward Carone, Louis Wojnicki, Edward Streit, Michael Martin, Matthew Conrath, 19 20 Jamie Lick, Mitchell Broderick, Daniel Harney, Kevin Galeher, 21 Daniel Smith, Marques Reed, Taylor Osborn, Melvin Shaw, Daniel 22 Platt, Drew McGowan, Matthew Quinn, Daniel O'Neill, Thomas 23 O'Connor, Rigoberto Gomez, Jr., Warren Higginbothan II, Darius Fleming, Erik Rickert, Alfonso Castillo, Terence Peter, Ryan 24 25 Bischoff, and Elkin Smith III; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The players and coaches of the St. Rita Mustangs
- 2 Football team truly deserve to be proud of their championship
- 3 season; therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 5 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 6 congratulate the St. Rita of Cascia Mustangs Football team, the
- 7 faculty, staff, students, and alumni for this remarkable
- 8 football accomplishment; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 10 presented to Principal Reverend Thomas McCarthy, Athletic
- 11 Director Bob Conlon, and the coaches and players as an
- 12 expression of our esteem.