

HR0119 LRB095 10966 KXB 31825 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to honor students at Boulder Hill 4 Elementary School in Montgomery; and

WHEREAS, The fourth and fifth grade students of Boulder Hill Elementary School in Montgomery, along with the fourth grade teachers, and volunteers from the local amateur radio community, will be making contact with the International Space Station through the joint efforts of ARISS (Amateur Radio Aboard the International Space Station) and the Fox River Radio League in Aurora; and

WHEREAS, The program is a volunteer effort on the part of parents and Fox Radio League members; the students have studied methods of communication, sound and sound waves, the space program, the space station, the mission of the space station, and built working crystal radios; they also have talked with other radio amateurs in Alaska, Florida, England, Croatia, and other locations around the world; and

WHEREAS, The big event occurs during the week of March 5-9, 2007; this will be the first contact in Kendall, Will, Kane, and DuPage counties between a school and the International Space Station; only about 25 such radio contacts are made each

HR0119

- 1 year with the Space Station; and
- WHEREAS, The students are being assisted by lead teacher,
- 3 Tiffany Vanatta; assistant teachers are Paula Barnes, Maryam
- 4 Nystedt, and Katie Serge; the amateur radio operators are John
- 5 Spasojevich, Greg Braun, Joe Buan, and members of the Fox River
- 6 Radio League; and
- WHEREAS, The students involved in this undertaking are Gabe
- 8 Aguirre, Casey Blincoe, Jordan Campbell, Hannah Cooper, Nathan
- 9 Edwards, Elise Engelhardt, Aaron Esquivel, Abby Etheridge,
- 10 Matthew Gerler, Courtney Hoban, Brandon Isberg, Ashley
- Jourdan, Devin Keenan, Connor Klayman, Emily Majewski, Maggie
- 12 Orick, Nathaniel Paisley, Kaela Pelletier, Alyssa Plohr,
- 13 Kaitlyn Potts, Rachel Prater, Kevin Prater, Evan Raeder, Brooke
- 14 Sidwell, Scott Test, Justin Toland, Rachel VanBoekel, Jose
- 15 Wagner, Katie Warren, and Jack Weinz; therefore, be it
- 16 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 17 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 18 congratulate the students and teachers at Boulder Hill
- 19 Elementary School for their hard work and dedication in making
- 20 communicating with the International Space Station possible;
- 21 and be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be

1 presented to everyone involved in this event as a symbol of our

2 esteem.