

HR0360 LRB095 11925 GRL 35460 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the citizens of the 4 United City of Yorkville on the 50th anniversary of the merger 5 of the villages of Yorkville and Bristol; and

WHEREAS, On April 16, 1957, the villages of Yorkville and Bristol completed their merger, becoming the United City of Yorkville; the first mayor was Ellsworth Windett, with Dr. Robert Coleman, Leroy "Bud" Thanepohn and Bob Johnson also serving as mayor during the 50 year history of Yorkville; the current mayor is Art Prochaska and the mayor-elect is Valerie Burd; City Council members who have served since 1957 include Russ Hughes, Elden Madden, Delbert Trummel, Mike Anderson, Burt Callmer, Richard Ellis, Cliff Jahp, Jack Jones, Cathy Jones, Larry Kot, Ralph Pfister, Bill Radke, Jim Stafford, Mike Thanepohn, Tom Sowinski, Bill Baird, Wanda Ohare, Bob Thomas, and Vern Florence; and

WHEREAS, The City of Yorkville has planned a series of events celebrating its 50 years, with a Community Volunteer Appreciation Day in May, a 50th Anniversary Music Under The Stars concert in June, an ice cream social in July, and a time capsule ceremony in September; therefore, be it

5

1 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
2 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
3 congratulate the citizens of the United City of Yorkville on
4 the 50th anniversary of their community, and we wish them

continued growth and prosperity; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to Mayor Art Prochaska as a symbol of our esteem and respect.