

HR1300 LRB095 20585 KXB 50810 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On Wednesday, March 19, 2008, the Academy of 2 3 Country Music announced that the Rialto Square Theatre in 4 Joliet had been nominated in the category of Venue of the Year; 5 and 6 WHEREAS, The Rialto Square Theatre in Joliet has hosted 7 country music legends Loretta Lynn, George Jones, Billy Ray 8 Cyrus, and Vince Gill; they have also hosted rising stars such 9 as Sara Evans, Taylor Swift, LeAnn Rimes, and Jewel; and 10 WHEREAS, In addition to music stars, the Rialto Square Theatre has hosted comedians ranging from Rodney Carrington to 11 members of the Blue Collar Comedy Tour, including Bill Engvall, 12 13 Ron White, and Jeff Foxworthy; and 14 WHEREAS, The Rialto Square Theatre is one of five nominees for Venue of the Year; and 15 WHEREAS, The historic theatre originally opened in 1926 and 16 17 is a stunning reflection of Greek, Roman, and Byzantine architecture; and 18 19 WHEREAS, The Rialto is listed on the National Register of 20 Historic Places, and has been called one of the ten most

- 1 beautiful theatres in the nation; therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 3 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 4 congratulate the staff and management of the Rialto Square
- 5 Theatre, in Joliet on this honor; and be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 7 presented to Randy Green, General Manager of the Rialto Square
- 8 Theatre and the Will County Metropolitan Exposition and
- 9 Auditorium Authority.