

HR1329 LRB095 21459 KXB 50943 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2 WHEREAS, Kappa Sigma Zeta Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta 3 Sorority, Incorporated, is sponsoring its first legislative 4 visit to the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded on 6 January 16, 1920, by five young women, respectfully known as 7 the Five Pearls, at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl A. Neal, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts recognized the need to encourage the highest standards of scholarship through scientific, literary, cultural, and educational programs; promote service projects on college campuses and in the community; foster sisterhood; and exemplify the ideal of Finer Womanhood; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception Zeta Phi Beta has chronicled a number of firsts; Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa in 1948; to form adult and youth auxiliary groups; to centralize its operations in a national headquarters; and to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority is honored to have formed

HR1329

- 1 many wonderful, community-based partnerships over the past 88
- 2 years administering Stork's Nest in collaboration with the
- 3 March of Dimes, the Z-HOPE program, and giving financial
- 4 assistance through our National Education Foundation; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The members and auxiliary groups of this sorority
- 6 provide voluntary service to community outreach programs, fund
- 7 scholarships, support organized charities, and promote
- 8 legislation for social change; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Zeta Phi Beta members who have distinguished
- 10 themselves individually include Rear Admiral Evelyn J. Fields,
- 11 Violette Anderson, Dr. Deborah Wolfe, Bernette J. Johnson,
- 12 Esther Rolle, Sheryl Underwood, Minnie Riperton, Syleena
- Johnson, Dr. Elizabeth D. Koontz, and Zora Neale Hurston, and
- 14 Illinoisan Dr. Jylla Moore Foster, past international
- president of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.; and
- WHEREAS, Key officers today include: Dr. Barbara C. Moore,
- 17 International President; Daisy L. Davis, Great Lakes Regional
- 18 Director; and Alice F. Craft, Illinois State Director;
- 19 therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 21 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- the members of this Body, in recognition of the achievements of

- 1 the members of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., and the values for
- which they strive, do proclaim Wednesday, May, 21, 2008 as the
- 3 First Zeta Phi Beta Day throughout the State of Illinois; and
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 6 presented to the International President of Zeta Phi Beta
- 7 Sorority, Inc., the Great Lakes Regional Director of Zeta Phi
- 8 Beta Sorority, Inc., and the Illinois State Director of Zeta
- 9 Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.