

HR1250 LRB096 22323 GRL 41457 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2	WHEREAS, The Illinois Police Officers Memorial Committee
3	was established in 1985; a monument adjacent to the Illinois
4	State Capitol building bears the names of the officers who have
5	made the ultimate sacrifice while serving their communities;
6	and

- WHEREAS, Every year on the first Thursday of May, a ceremony to pay tribute to fallen officers and their families is held at the monument; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 1993, the Illinois Fire Services Association 11 unanimously agreed that a monument should be erected on the 12 grounds of the Illinois State Capitol building to serve as the 13 official memorial; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Each year, the Illinois Fallen Firefighter
  15 Memorial's Firefighter Medal of Honor Awards Ceremony is held
  16 at the memorial to honor those firefighters who lost their
  17 lives in the line of duty and those who served their community
  18 with outstanding bravery and service; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Both ceremonies frequently take place during the 20 spring legislative session; and

- -2- LRB096 22323 GRL 41457 r
- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of
- 2 Representatives should have the opportunity to honor the
- 3 service of fallen police officers and fire fighters through
- 4 their attendance at the services; therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 6 NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 7 the Illinois House of Representatives shall not be in session,
- 8 recess to the call of the chair if the House has convened,
- 9 convene any committee during any session of the House, or
- 10 convene any commission created by Illinois law that has
- 11 legislative membership during session days when the Illinois
- 12 Police Officers Memorial or Illinois Fallen Firefighter
- 13 Memorial Firefighter Medal of Honor Awards Ceremony is taking
- 14 place; and be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 16 presented to each member of the Illinois House of
- 17 Representatives.