

HR0216

LRB097 11302 GRL 53376 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the 52 students of 4 Niles North High School who competed and took first place in 5 the regional Illinois Junior Academy of Science Fair Contest; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, The 52 Niles North High School students who 8 competed in the contest were members of the STEM Inquiry and 9 Research (SIR) class and/or the Researchers and Investigators 10 of the Tomorrow (RIOT) Club; 36 of the 49 projects that were 11 entered in the contest qualified for the IJAS State Exposition 12 on May 6 and 7, 2011 at the University of Illinois in 13 Champaign-Urbana; and

14 WHEREAS, Niles North High School's victory marks the 21st 15 consecutive year that the school has taken first place in the 16 contest; and

17 WHEREAS, Among the students who competed, Best in Category 18 plaques were awarded to Elan Ness-Cohn for aerospace science, 19 Jeffrey Gaynes for biochemistry, Naveen Kanji for cellular and 20 molecular, Haley Sproull for chemistry, Joshua Lipshultz for 21 computer science, Olivia Altmayer and Monica Rosenberg for 22 consumer science, Jacob Cohn for environmental science, Alvina

HR0216 -2-LRB097 11302 GRL 53376 r 1 Shaikh for health science, Micah Beller for material science, 2 Krystine Hoang and Alexis Lehrman for microbiology, Reena Patel for physics, and Ayana Jamal for zoology; in addition, Naveen 3 Kanji, Ayana Jamal, Joshua Lipschultz, and Elan Ness-Cohn were 4 5 selected to participate in the Intel International Science and 6 Engineering Foundation, the world's largest pre-college 7 celebration of science, while Damiana Andonova and Ayana Jamal were awarded the William Gonas Award for having the top two 8 9 papers submitted in the Paper Session competition - senior 10 division; and

11 WHEREAS, The Niles North High School students who competed 12 in the contest are Alvina Shaikh, Ariella Hoffman-Peterson, Arshila Merchant, Asad Qureshi, Ashley Thomas, Athanasia 13 Giannetos, Ayana Jamal, Basil Alias, Cyatharine Alias, Damiana 14 15 Andonova, Diana Kumar, Eddie Reinfranck, Elan Ness-Cohn, 16 Emmanuelle Asrow, Emre Erel, Evan Sturt, Faisal Bari, Gideon Horberg, Haley Bubley, Haley Sproull, Hamza Mahmood, Hillary 17 18 Bartman, Iris Schwartz, Jacob Cohn, James Gilbert, Jeffrey Gaynes, Joshua Lipschultz, Julia Bentkowska, Kristine Hoang 19 20 and Alexis Lehrman, Lindsay Pietz, Maggi Kreisheh, Marta 21 Lemesh, Micah Beller, Mohammed Hasan, Naveen Kanji, Nida 22 Fayyaz, Noah Zeidman, Olivia Altmayer and Monica Rosenberg, 23 Quynh Nguyen, Reena Patel, Regina Roberg, Reny Mathew, Richmond 24 Toy, Rupal Desai, Sara Beladi, Sara Karnes and Miriam Prosnitz, 25 Valeriya Volodarskaya, Zachary Oppenheimer, and Zain Lakhani;

HR0216 -3- LRB097 11302 GRL 53376 r
1 the SIR teacher is Jacki Naughton and the RIOT Club sponsors
2 are Jacki Naughton, Lisa McKenna, Heidi Eichler, and Katherine
3 France; and

WHEREAS, These bright young men and women serve as models of hard work, integrity, and dedication for the people of the State of Illinois; therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 8 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 9 we congratulate the students of Niles North High School who 10 competed and took first place in the regional Illinois Junior 11 Academy of Science Fair Contest and wish them continued success and happiness in the future; and be it further 12

13 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 14 presented to the students as a symbol of our esteem and 15 respect.