

97TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2011 and 2012 SB2937

Introduced 2/1/2012, by Sen. Pamela J. Althoff

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

70 ILCS 3610/2 from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 352 70 ILCS 3610/3 from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 353

Amends the Local Mass Transit District Act. Creates the Northwest Metra Commuter Rail District. Provides that the Northwest Metra Commuter Rail District shall include all municipalities located within McHenry County.

LRB097 16518 KMW 61687 b

FISCAL NOTE ACT MAY APPLY

1 AN ACT concerning local government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 5. The Local Mass Transit District Act is amended by changing Sections 2 and 3 as follows:
- 6 (70 ILCS 3610/2) (from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 352)
- 7 Sec. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this Act:
- 8 (a) "Mass transit facility" means any local public
- 9 transportation facility, whether buses, trolley-buses, or
- 10 railway systems, utilized by a substantial number of persons
- 11 for their daily transportation, and includes not only the local
- 12 public transportation facility itself but ancillary and
- 13 supporting facilities such as, for example, motor vehicle
- 14 parking facilities, as well.
- 15 (b) "Participating municipality and county" means the
- 16 municipality or municipalities, county or counties creating
- 17 the local Mass Transit District pursuant to Section 3 of this
- 18 Act.
- 19 (c) "Municipality" means a city, village, township, or
- 20 incorporated town.
- 21 (d) "Corporate authorities" means (1) the city council or
- 22 similar body of a city, (2) the board of trustees or similar
- 23 body of a village or incorporated town, (3) the council of a

- 1 municipality under the commission form of municipal 2 government, and (4) the board of trustees in a township.
 - (e) "County board" means the governing board of a county.
- 4 (f) "District" means a local Mass Transit District created 5 pursuant to Section 3 of this Act.
 - (g) "Board" means the Board of Trustees of a local Mass
 Transit District created pursuant to Section 3 of this Act.
 - (h) "Interstate transportation authority" shall mean any political subdivision created by compact between this State and another state, which is a body corporate and politic and a political subdivision of both contracting states, and which operates a public mass transportation system.
 - (i) "Metro East Mass Transit District" means one or more local mass transit districts created pursuant to this Act, composed only of Madison, St. Clair or Monroe Counties, or any combination thereof or any territory annexed to such district.
 - (j) "Public mass transportation system" shall mean a transportation system or systems owned and operated by an interstate transportation authority, a municipality, District, or other public or private authority, employing motor busses, rails or any other means of conveyance, by whatsoever type or power, operated for public use in the conveyance of persons, mainly providing local transportation service within an interstate transportation district, municipality, or county.
 - (k) "Southeast Commuter Rail Transit District" means one or more local mass transit districts created pursuant to this Act,

- 1 composed only of municipalities located within Cook County or
- 2 Will County, or both, or any territory annexed to such
- 3 district.

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

- 4 (1) "Northwest Metra Commuter Rail District" means one or
- 5 more local mass transit districts created pursuant to this Act,
- 6 composed only of municipalities located within McHenry County,
- 7 or any territory annexed to such district.
- 8 (Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-1542, eff. 3-8-11.)
- 9 (70 ILCS 3610/3) (from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 353)
 - Sec. 3. Creation of a district. For the purpose of acquiring, constructing, owning, operating and maintaining mass transit facilities for public service or subsidizing the operation thereof a local Mass Transit District may be created, composed of one or more municipalities or one or more counties or any combination thereof, by ordinance approved by a majority vote of the corporate authorities or by resolution approved by a majority vote of the county board of each participating municipality and county. A Metro East Mass Transit District created by one or more counties shall include: (1) those townships which were served by regularly scheduled mass transit routes operated by an interstate transportation authority on June 1, 1980; (2) in the case of a county without townships, any municipality or unincorporated portion of a road district which was served by regularly scheduled mass transit routes operated by an interstate transportation authority on June 1,

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

1980; any other townships or municipalities (3) participation is approved by ordinance adopted by a majority vote of their Board of Trustees or corporate authorities; plus in the case of a county without townships, unincorporated portion of any road district, the participation of which is approved by an ordinance adopted by a majority vote of the Board of Commissioners of the county in which it is located. Such District shall be known as the ".... Mass Transit District", inserting all or any significant part of the name or names of the municipality or the county, or both, creating the District, or a name descriptive of the area to be served if the District is created by more than one municipality, more than one county, or any combination thereof. A Southeast Commuter Rail Transit District shall include: the Village of Crete, the Village of Steger, the Village of South Chicago Heights, the City of Chicago Heights, the Village of Glenwood, the Village of Thornton, the Village of South Holland, the Village of Dolton, the City of Calumet City, the Village of Lansing, and the Village of Lynwood. A Northwest Metra Commuter Rail District shall include all municipalities located within McHenry County.

The District created pursuant to this Act shall be a municipal corporation and shall have the right of eminent domain to acquire private property which is necessary for the purposes of the District, and shall have the power to contract for public mass transportation with an Interstate

1 Transportation Authority.

Upon the creation of any District, the clerk of the municipality or of the county, or the clerks of the several municipalities or counties, as the case may be, shall certify a copy of the ordinance or resolution creating the District, and the names of the persons first appointed Trustees thereof, and shall file the same with the county clerk for recording as certificates of incorporation and the county clerk shall cause duplicate certified copies thereof to be filed with the Secretary of State.

11 (Source: P.A. 96-1542, eff. 3-8-11.)