

SJ0067 LRB097 20960 GRL 68131 r

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

21

2	WHEREAS, In 1963, Coach George Ireland led the Loyola
3	Chicago Ramblers to the NCAA basketball championship; the team
4	lost only 2 games that season and led the nation in scoring
5	with 91.8 points per game; and
6	WHEREAS, Coach Ireland and the Loyola University teams of
7	the early 1960s are considered by many to be responsible for
8	ushering in a new era of racial equality in the sport by
9	shattering all color barriers in NCAA men's basketball; and
10	WHEREAS, It is difficult to appreciate what Coach Ireland
11	and his team went through, starting in 1961, in breaking what
12	had been a longstanding "gentleman's agreement" to not play
13	more than 3 African-American players; and
14	WHEREAS, During the 1962-1963 season, Coach Ireland played
15	4 African American Loyola starters in every game; the Ramblers
16	became the first team in NCAA Division I history to play an
17	all-African-American lineup, doing so in a game against Wyoming
18	in December of 1962; and
19	WHEREAS, In 1963, Loyola shocked the nation and changed
20	college basketball forever by starting 4 African-American

players in the NCAA Tournament, as well as the championship

- 1 game; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Despite their success during that season, players
- 3 had to endure terrible bigotry, including racial taunts and
- 4 abuse; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Coach Ireland received countless pieces of hate
- 6 mail from the KKK and other racist individuals and tried to
- 7 shield his team in every way possible; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The team remained focused on the sport they loved,
- 9 despite knowing that police surrounded the sports facility
- 10 because violence might erupt at any moment; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Loyola's defeat of 2-time defending NCAA champion
- 12 Cincinnati, in overtime by a score of 60-58, was the crowning
- achievement in the school's nearly decade-long struggle with
- 14 racial inequality in men's college basketball, highlighted by
- the tumultuous events of that year's NCAA Tournament; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Loyola's 1963 NCAA title was historic, not only
- because of the racial makeup of Loyola's team, but also because
- 18 Cincinnati had started 3 black players, making 7 of the 10
- 19 starters in the 1963 NCAA Championship game African-American;
- 20 and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

21

- WHEREAS, The City of Chicago has many storied sports teams, 1 2 but the Loyola Ramblers basketball team of 1963 and Coach Ireland hold an exalted place because they are the only 3 Division I Illinois basketball team to win a 4 5 championship, and because they paved the way long-overdue integration of races in college basketball prior 6 7 to the 1964 Civil Rights Act; and
- 8 WHEREAS, All starting players from the national 5 9 championship game graduated from Loyola with degrees; several 10 went on to earn advanced degrees in law and business; and
 - WHEREAS, The journey of the Ramblers is not just the story of an underdog team overcoming great odds to beat favored Cincinnati, a much larger basketball program that held the number 1 ranking and had won the previous 2 national championships; the real significance of this coach and this team is the lasting impact of their bravery for having broken the racial barrier in college basketball that had been allowed to prevail for decades; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The 2013 Hall of Fame induction season will mark 20 the 50th anniversary of the Loyola Basketball Championship; and
- WHEREAS, Both Coach Don Haskins and the players of the 1966 22 Texas Western College Miners have been inducted to the Naismith

- 1 Hall of Fame in recognition of their achievement as the first
- 2 all-African-American college basketball team to win the
- 3 national championship; therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL
- 5 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
- 6 CONCURRING HEREIN, that we wholeheartedly urge the relevant
- 7 authorities to nominate and induct Coach George Ireland and the
- 8 1963 Loyola Chicago basketball championship team into the
- 9 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.