1 AN ACT concerning civil law.

2	Ве	it	enacted	by	the	People	of	the	State	of	Illinois,
3	represe	nte	d in the (Gene	eral A	ssembly	:				

Section 5. The Code of Civil Procedure is amended by adding Section 9-120.5 as follows:

6 (735 ILCS 5/9-120.5 new)

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

18

19

20

21

22

2.3

Sec. 9-120.5. Offensive use of property.

(a) As used in this Section, "offensive use of property"

means the repeated use of leased premises in a manner that

disturbs the peace or is detrimental to the health and safety

of the neighbors of the premises. To qualify as offensive use

of property, all of the following conditions must exist:

(1) on 3 or more separate occasions within a 60-day period, an act is committed on the property which is:

(A) a felony or a Class A misdemeanor;

(B) a violation of subsection (a) (1) of Section

26-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; or

(C) a violation of a public order regulation adopted under Section 11-5-1, 11-5-2, or 11-5-10 of the Illinois Municipal Code;

(2) a lessee or his or her guest used the premises, permitted the premises to be used, or knew or should have known that the premises would be used in the commission of

the	act;	and
-----	------	-----

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

- (3) on each occasion, an arrest was made or a citation 2 3 was issued for the commission of the act.
 - (b) If the standard for offensive use of property has been met, then the tenancy may be terminated and the owner, lessor, or agent shall be entitled to bring a forcible entry and detainer action under this Section.
 - (c) If an owner, lessor, or agent terminates a tenancy under this Section, the owner, lessor, or agent shall be required to deliver a 5-day notice to quit to the lessee, specifying the alleged acts and the date of occurrence for each. The notice shall be substantially in the following form:

"To(names of tenants) and all other unknown occupants. Because of the repeated use of the residence you rent at (location of the premises) in a manner that disturbs your neighbors or threatens the health and safety of your neighbors, I have chosen to terminate your right to remain in the property. The specific acts, which took place in a 60-day period and resulted in an arrest being made or a citation being issued, are: (insert the alleged acts and the date of occurrence for each). You are hereby notified to return possession of your residence to me within 5 days of this date (date of delivery of notice).

Any person identified in this notice who, because of an act listed in this notice, is a victim of domestic

violence, dating violence, sexual assault, or stalking max
present the court documentation to defend the victim's
right to retain possession of the residence. Documentation
shall be in the form of medical, court, or police records
documenting the violence or a statement from either a
employee of a victim service organization or a medical
professional from whom the victim sought services.
This demand is being made pursuant to Illinois law
(Section 9-120.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure, 735 ILC
5/9-120.5, which can be found online for further
information)."
The notice shall be signed by the owner, lessor, or agent
No other notice or demand of possession or termination of the
tenancy is necessary.
(d) A hearing shall be held not more than 14 days after

filing of the forcible entry and detainer action. If the court finds that the standard for offensive use of property has been met, it shall enter judgment for possession of the premises in favor of the plaintiff. The plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the premises immediately, or no later than within 7 days of the entry of the judgment for possession of the premises if the court determines such a stay is appropriate to preserve the peace.

(e) The court may stay a judgment for possession for up to 6 months, provided:

(1) all parties agree to the stay;

_	4
---	---

1	(2) the court determines the lessee is willing and able
2	to prevent the offensive use of the property from
3	continuing; and
4	(3) none of the qualifying acts were of a violent
5	nature.
6	The stay shall be lifted and judgment for possession shall
7	be enforced if, prior to the expiration of the stay, the
8	plaintiff petitions the court to terminate the stay and the
9	court finds that, subsequent to the issuance of the stay, an
10	act has been committed on the property which qualifies as
11	offensive use of property under subsection (a) of this Section.
12	The judgment for possession shall otherwise be automatically
13	vacated at the end of the period of the stay. Upon the lifting
14	of the stay, the plaintiff shall be entitled to re-enter the
15	<pre>premises immediately.</pre>
16	(f) The sheriff or other lawfully deputized officer shall
17	execute an order under this Section within 7 days of its entry
18	or within 7 days of the expiration of a stay of judgment.
19	(g) Nothing in this Section shall limit the rights of an
20	owner, lessor, or agent to bring a forcible entry and detainer
21	action on the basis of other applicable law.
22	(h) The governmental agencies in whose jurisdiction the
23	leased premises are located shall provide the owner, lessor, or
24	agent with the information reasonably necessary to
25	substantiate the required elements of an action filed under

this Section. A municipality or other governmental entity may

6

7

8

9

1	not	requ	ire	an	owne	er,	less	or,	or	agent	to	brir	ng a	for	rcibl	le
2	entr	y ar	nd	deta	iner	ac	tion	uno	der	this	Sect	cion	or	imp	ose	а
3	pena	lty	on	the	owne	r,	lesso	or,	or	agent	for	fai	lure	to	evi	ct
4	when	not	ifi	catio	n is	ma	de.									

(i) A tenant or occupant may not be the subject of a forcible detainer under this Section in conjunction with a qualifying act in which that tenant or occupant is the victim of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, or stalking.