

HR0272 LRB098 11773 GRL 44826 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives recognize young children as one of the State's 4 most precious and valuable resources; and

WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of Young Children is the nation's largest early childhood organization; the association seeks to serve and act on behalf of the rights, needs, and well-being of all young children, with a primary focus on the provision of educational and developmental needs and services; and

WHEREAS, The Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children (ILAEYC) is the State affiliate of the National Association for the Education of Young Children; ILAEYC has over 3,100 members and 17 local affiliate chapters around the State dedicated to the same mission; and

WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of Young Children has designated the week of April 11-16 as the Week of the Young Child; the month of April is designated as Month of the Young Child in the State of Illinois; and

WHEREAS, The purpose of the Month of the Young Child is to focus public attention on the needs of young children and their

- 1 families and to recognize the individuals, early childhood
- 2 programs, and services that are dedicated to meeting those
- 3 needs; and
- WHEREAS, There are members of the organization, such as
- 5 teachers, program directors, school administrators, agency
- 6 personnel, college faculty, and others, who continually go
- 7 above and beyond what is expected to see that these needs are
- 8 met; and
- 9 WHEREAS, These individuals are considered to be true
- 10 Children's Champions, who go further than anyone else to make a
- 11 positive difference to the lives of children everywhere; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The actions of Lois Malone of Carterville
- 13 (Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children),
- 14 Beverly Avery of Orland Park (South Suburban AEYC), Rhonda
- 15 Costa of Champaign (East Central AEYC), Beverly Cavanaugh of
- 16 Joliet (Joliet AEYC), June Davis of Bloomington (McLean
- 17 County), Nancy Gulley of Benton (Southern Illinois), Linda Lacy
- of Toledo (Spirit of Illinois), Debbie Lee of Rock Island (Quad
- 19 Cities), Wendy Mertes of Inverness (Golden Corridor AEYC),
- 20 Susan Moore of Creve Coeur (Heart of Illinois), and Anne Wharff
- of Springfield (Capitol Area) represent shining examples of
- those in our communities doing good things for children; these
- 23 individuals have been nominated by their local affiliate

- 1 chapters and designated by the Illinois Association for the
- 2 Education of Young Children as Illinois 2013 Children's
- 3 Champions; therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 5 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 6 we recognize the Illinois 2013 Children's Champions and their
- 7 dedication, hard work, and significant contributions to the
- 8 State of Illinois; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 10 presented to each of the Illinois 2013 Children's Champions in
- 11 recognition of their efforts.