

HR0584

LRB098 14195 MST 48790 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate Saint Matthew 4 Lutheran Church & School in Hawthorn Woods on the occasion of 5 its 150th anniversary; and

6 WHEREAS, In 1863, a group of individuals, wishing to form 7 their own church and congregation, turned to Pastor H. Schmidt 8 to aid in forming the church; the constitution of the 9 congregation was accepted on October 11, 1963, and organized 10 under the "The Evangelical Lutheran St. Matthew name 11 Congregation, of the Unaltered Augsburg Confession, at Russels Grove, Lake County, Illinois"; the physical site of the campus 12 of St. Matthew has never relocated, but the jurisdiction 13 14 encompassing the church has changed several times; it has been 15 located in Russels Grove, Fairfield, Lake Zurich, and in 2003 it became part of Hawthorn Woods; and 16

WHEREAS, The first officers of Saint Matthew Lutheran congregation were Chairman Wilhelm Ohlendorf, Secretary Wilhelm Fischer, Treasurer Georg Wilkens, Heinrich Hapke, August Knigge, and Konrad Krueger; and

21 WHEREAS, On June 22, 1864, Edward Julius Friedrich was 22 installed as the first full-time pastor of the congregation HR0584 -2- LRB098 14195 MST 48790 r succeeding Pastor Schmidt who had cultivated the start of the congregation; on the very same day, the cornerstone for the new church building was laid; it was dedicated on December 10, 1864; and

5 WHEREAS, Both the number of members associated with Saint 6 Matthew Lutheran congregation and the physical size of its 7 campus grew substantially over the years; in 1986, a building 8 committee was formed to start the plans that would shape the 9 current church, school, and chapel campus; a "site dedication" 10 service was held in 1989 for the newly proposed church 11 building; construction commenced in May 1991, with completion and dedication in November 1992; and 12

13 WHEREAS, Saint Matthew Lutheran School received National 14 Lutheran School accreditation in 1989, which continues to be 15 maintained, and in 2005, the school was nationally accredited 16 and recognized by the State; and

WHEREAS, On August 8, 2010, the congregation of Saint Matthew Lutheran installed Pastor Timothy Kinne as its current Senior Pastor; on August 14, 2011, Pastor Edward Blonski became the current Assistant Pastor; and

21 WHEREAS, Saint Matthew Lutheran will observe its 22 anniversary on October 11, 2013 and celebrate its HR0584 -3- LRB098 14195 MST 48790 r Sesquicentennial on October 27, 2013; therefore, be it

1

2 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 3 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 4 we congratulate Saint Matthew Lutheran Church & School on the 5 occasion of its 150th anniversary; and be it further

6 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 7 presented to Saint Matthew Lutheran Church & School as an 8 expression of our esteem and respect.