

HR1014

LRB098 20905 GRL 58533 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives recognize young children as one of the State's 4 most precious and valuable resources; and

5 WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of 6 Young Children is the nation's largest early childhood 7 organization; the association seeks to serve and act on behalf 8 of the rights, needs, and well-being of all young children, 9 with a primary focus on the provision of educational and 10 developmental needs and services; and

11 WHEREAS, The Illinois Association for the Education of 12 Young Children (ILAEYC) is the State affiliate of the National 13 Association for the Education of Young Children; ILAEYC has 14 over 3,100 members and 17 local affiliate chapters around the 15 State dedicated to the same mission; and

16 WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of 17 Young Children has designated the week of April 6-12 as the 18 Week of the Young Child; the month of April is designated as 19 Month of the Young Child in the State of Illinois; and

20 WHEREAS, The purpose of the Month of the Young Child is to 21 focus public attention on the needs of young children and their HR1014 -2- LRB098 20905 GRL 58533 r 1 families and to recognize the individuals, early childhood 2 programs, and services that are dedicated to meeting those 3 needs; and

WHEREAS, There are members of the organization, such as teachers, program directors, school administrators, agency personnel, college faculty, and others, who continually go above and beyond what is expected to see that these needs are met; and

9 WHEREAS, These individuals are considered to be true 10 Children's Champions, who go further than anyone else to make a 11 positive difference to the lives of children everywhere; and

12 WHEREAS, The actions of Chris Bachelder of Moline (Quad 13 Cities AEYC), Anna Cech of Champaign (East Central AEYC), Gail 14 Conway of Chicago (Chicago Metro AEYC), Karen Cooper of Joliet (Joliet AEYC), Lee Ann Isbel of Peoria (Heart of Illinois 15 16 AEYC), Jean Jackson of Riverton (Capitol Area AEYC), Jill 17 Johnson of Carbondale (Southern Illinois AEYC), Marie Kielty of Chicago (South Suburban AEYC), Carrie Rafalski of Hoffman 18 19 Estates (Golden Corridor AEYC), Tina Staley of Oblong (South 20 Central AEYC), and Barbara Warmoth of Charleston (Spirit of Illinois AEYC) represent shining examples of those in our 21 22 communities doing good things for children; these individuals 23 have been nominated by their local affiliate AEYC chapters and HR1014 -3- LRB098 20905 GRL 58533 r designated by the Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children as Illinois 2014 Children's Champions; therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 5 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 6 we recognize the Illinois 2014 Children's Champions and their 7 dedication, hard work, and significant contributions to the 8 State of Illinois; and be it further

9 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 10 presented to each of the Illinois 2014 Children's Champions in 11 recognition of their efforts.