

HR1009 LRB099 20519 GRL 45051 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives offer our sincere congratulations to the 4 Chicago Bears on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of their 5 Super Bowl XX win; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Chicago Bears had a nearly untarnished record 7 of 15-1 going into the post-season; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In the playoffs, the Bears dominated the New York 9 Giants, and the Los Angeles Rams by a combined score of 45-0 10 and only allowed 301 yards of total offense to win the NFC 11 title; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The New England Patriots scored the first points
 13 of Super Bowl XX with a field goal, but the Bears quickly
 14 answered with a field goal of their own; Bears' defensive end,
 15 Richard Dent, forced a fumble which the Bears recovered,
 16 leading to another field goal that put the Bears above the
 17 Patriots 6-3; and
- WHEREAS, The Patriots' drive had similar results, with Dent stripping Patriots' running back Craig James of the football, which led to a touchdown resulting in a 13-3 Bears lead; the Bears' relentless defense led to a switch from Patriots'

- 1 starting quarterback, Tony Eason, to back-up quarterback,
- 2 Steve Grogan; however, the switch was to no avail, as the Bears
- 3 scored another touchdown, followed by a field goal in their
- 4 following drive to make the score 23-3 at half-time; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Steve Grogan was sacked twice in the Patriots'
- 6 second half opening series, which led to Bears' quarterback,
- 7 Jim McMahon, running in his second touchdown of the game;
- 8 defensive back, Reggie Phillips, caught a deflected pass and
- 9 ran it back 48 yards for a Chicago Bears' defense touchdown,
- 10 making the score 37-3; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Another Bears' interception of Grogan, and a
- 12 27-yard pass from McMahon to Dennis Gentry set up William "The
- 13 Refrigerator" Perry for a one-yard rush into the end zone,
- 14 putting the Bears up 44-3; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The Patriots finally strung together a drive to
- 16 make the score 44-10, but the Bears' defense answered with a
- 17 safety of Grogan, which led to the final score of 46-10; and
- 18 WHEREAS, We recognize the time, energy, and effort put
- 19 forth by the coaching staff: Offensive Line Coach Dick Stanfel,
- 20 Offensive Coordinator Ed Hughes, Defensive Coordinator Buddy
- 21 Ryan, and Head Coach Mike Ditka; and

WHEREAS, We also recognize the time, energy, and effort put forth by the entire 1985 Chicago Bears team: Jim McMahon, Walter Payton, Matt Suhey, Willie Gault, Dennis McKinnon, Emery Moorehead, Jimbo Covert, Mark Bortz, Jay Hilgenberg, Tom Thayer, Keith Van Horne, Dan Hampton, Steve McMichael, William Perry, Richard Dent, Otis Wilson, Mike Singletary, Mike Richardson, Leslie Frazier, Dave Duerson, Gary Fenick, Kevin Butler, Maury Buford, Ken Taylor, Brad Anderson, Tom Andrews, Kurt Becker, Mark Bortz, Brian Cabral, Andy Frederick, Steve Fuller, Shaun Gayle, Mike Hartenstine, Stefan Humphries, Tyrone Keys, James Maness, Ken Margerum, Wilber Marshall, Jim Morrissey, Keith Ortego, Reggie Phillips, Ron Rivera, Thomas Sanders, Calvin Thomas, Cliff Thrift, Mike Tomczak, Henry Waechter, and Tim Wrightman; and

WHEREAS, The 30th Anniversary of the Super Bowl XX victory should be celebrated heartily by the Chicago Bears, their owner, Virginia Halas McCaskey, and Chairman George McCaskey; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we offer our sincere congratulations to Virginia Halas McCaskey, George McCaskey, and the Chicago Bears organization as a whole on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of their Super Bowl XX win, and wish them continued success in the years to come; and

- 1 be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 3 presented to Virginia Halas McCaskey, George McCaskey, and the
- 4 Chicago Bears organization as a token of our esteem and
- 5 respect.