

HR1526

LRB099 24177 MST 51877 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to recognize the 8th Annual Whitney M. 4 Young Jr. Service Awards Dinner on December 3, 2016; and

5 WHEREAS, The Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Awards Dinner is 6 held each year to recognize the commitment of adult volunteers 7 and organizations who work to improve the lives of the youth in 8 the Chicago area; and

9 WHEREAS, The Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Awards Dinner is 10 supported by the Boy Scouts of America Pathway to Adventure 11 Council; during the past 106 years, it has been the mission of 12 the Boy Scouts of America to serve the nation, its communities, 13 and its citizens by providing boys a program that emphasizes 14 building, spiritual development, citizenship character training, community service, and self-reliance; and 15

16 WHEREAS, The 2016 Whitney M. Young Jr. Service honorees are 17 Mr. and Mrs. Lester McKeever of Washington, Pittman and 18 McKeever LLC, President of Chicago Transit Authority Dorval 19 Carter, Harry Porterfield of CBS News, and Anthony Dade of Cub 20 Scout Pack 3540; and

21 WHEREAS, 25 Scouts participate from neighborhoods such as

HR1526 -2- LRB099 24177 MST 51877 r
Inglewood, Roseland, Austin, West Garfield Park, Lawndale,
Woodlawn, Humboldt Park, Pilsen, Back of the Yards, South Shore
and more communities where building leadership is a need; and

WHEREAS, The proceeds from this recognition dinner will assist the Scouting program in the Chicagoland and northwest Indiana neighborhoods; therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 8 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 9 recognize the 8th Annual Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Awards 10 Dinner on December 3, 2016, and recognize the important work being done by the 2016 honorees; and be it further 11

12 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 13 presented to the 2016 Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Awards 14 Dinner honorees.