Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0019
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0019  93rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Lou Lang - Thomas Holbrook - Jay C. Hoffman - Brandon W. Phelps - Gary Forby and Naomi D. Jakobsson

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Higher Education Scholarship Act. Allows scholarships to be awarded to entering freshman, sophomores, juniors, and seniors at community colleges, colleges, and universities, whether public or private, located in this State. Establishes Illinois residency requirements, minimum grade point average requirements, and other requirements that the student must meet to be eligible for a scholarship. Provides that the scholarship, subject to the amounts appropriated by the General Assembly, includes tuition and mandatory fees (in an amount not to exceed the maximum amount allowed to be awarded under the Monetary Award Program for a student at a private institution). Authorizes the Illinois Student Assistance Commission to promulgate rules relating to the scholarships. Effective July 1, 2004.

 Fiscal Note (Illinois Student Assistance Commission)
 The fiscal impact of HB 19 is estimated to be $500 million annually.

 Fiscal Note (Illinois Student Assistance Commission)
 The fiscal impact of House Bill 19 is estimated to be approximately $200 million annually, beginning in Fiscal Year 2005.

DateChamber Action
  12/17/2002HousePrefiled with Clerk by Rep. Lou Lang
  1/8/2003HouseFirst Reading
  1/8/2003HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/22/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay C. Hoffman
  1/22/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  1/22/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Gary Forby
  1/23/2003HouseAssigned to Higher Education Committee
  1/29/2003HouseFiscal Note Filed
  1/30/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  2/5/2003HouseFiscal Note Filed -Revised
  2/6/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  2/10/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Larry McKeon
  2/10/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edward J. Acevedo
  2/10/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Calvin L. Giles
  3/13/2003HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top