Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2533
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2533  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Theresa Mah - Aaron M. Ortiz - Kelly M. Cassidy - John C. D'Amico - Martin J. Moylan, Will Guzzardi, Robyn Gabel, André Thapedi, Robert Martwick, Frances Ann Hurley, Emanuel Chris Welch, Michael J. Zalewski, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Camille Y. Lilly, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., William Davis, Robert Rita, Bob Morgan, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Luis Arroyo, Linda Chapa LaVia, Gregory Harris, Sara Feigenholtz, Ann M. Williams, Deb Conroy, Elizabeth Hernandez, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Natalie A. Manley, Kathleen Willis, Mark L. Walker, Celina Villanueva, Curtis J. Tarver, II, Kambium Buckner, Karina Villa, Delia C. Ramirez, Justin Slaughter, Sonya M. Harper, Anna Moeller, Sam Yingling, Michelle Mussman, La Shawn K. Ford, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Michael Halpin and Jehan Gordon-Booth

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
30 ILCS 105/5.886 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Transportation Benefit Program Act. Provides that an employer that is situated in Cook County and for which an average of 20 or more full-time employees work for compensation shall offer a program that allows a covered employee to elect to exclude from taxable wages and compensation the employee's commuting costs incurred for the purchase of a transit pass to use public transit up to a maximum level allowed by federal tax law. Provides that a covered employer may comply by participating in a program offered by the Chicago Transit Authority or the Regional Transit Authority. Provides that all transit agencies shall market the existence of the program to their riders. Establishes penalties for violations of the Act. Amends the State Finance Act to create the Transportation Benefits Program Fund. Effective January 1, 2020.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/13/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/13/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Martwick
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  2/14/2019HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karina Villa
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  2/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  2/26/2019HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/6/2019HouseTo Job Growth, Preservation and Training Subcommittee
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2020HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/5/2020HouseTo Job Growth, Preservation and Training Subcommittee
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top