Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2792
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2792  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Carol Ammons - Tom Demmer - Delia C. Ramirez - Michael J. Zalewski - Camille Y. Lilly, Aaron M. Ortiz, Nicholas K. Smith, Will Guzzardi, Barbara Hernandez, Kelly M. Cassidy, David A. Welter, Lindsey LaPointe, Theresa Mah, Anne Stava-Murray, Ann M. Williams, Joyce Mason, Bob Morgan, Margaret Croke, Daniel Didech, Elizabeth Hernandez, Michelle Mussman, Rita Mayfield, Sam Yingling, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Debbie Meyers-Martin, Robyn Gabel, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Lakesia Collins, Katie Stuart, Anna Moeller, Seth Lewis, Natalie A. Manley, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Jonathan Carroll, Michael Halpin, Dave Vella, Eva-Dina Delgado, Kambium Buckner, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Dagmara Avelar, Maurice A. West, II, Suzanne Ness, Denyse Wang Stoneback, Janet Yang Rohr, Sonya M. Harper, Justin Slaughter, Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar and Terra Costa Howard

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 5/212
35 ILCS 5/212.1 new
820 ILCS 170/5from Ch. 48, par. 2755

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Provides that an individual taxpayer age 65 or older is entitled to the earned income tax credit without regard to the requirement under the federal Internal Revenue Code that an individual taxpayer without a qualifying child has not attained age 65. Provides that an individual taxpayer age 18 to 24 is entitled to the earned income tax credit without regard to the requirement under the federal Internal Revenue Code that an individual taxpayer without a qualifying child has attained the age of 25. Provides that certain taxpayers using individual tax identification numbers are entitled to the earned income tax credit. Creates the eligible dependent tax credit. Provides that the total amount of credits between the eligible dependent tax credit and the earned income tax credit may not be less than $600. Amends the Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act to delete certain provisions concerning dependent children. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/18/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Carol Ammons
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  2/19/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/19/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  2/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  3/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/3/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/5/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/5/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  3/5/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  3/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/18/2021HouseTo Income Tax Subcommittee
  3/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  3/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  3/25/2021HouseRecommends Do Pass Subcommittee/ Revenue & Finance Committee; 004-002-000
  3/25/2021HouseReported Back To Revenue & Finance Committee;
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  4/6/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Seth Lewis
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  4/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  4/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  4/21/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  4/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  4/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Denyse Wang Stoneback
  4/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  5/6/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  5/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  5/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top