Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3335
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3335  101st General Assembly

Short Description:  CARRYOUT BAG FEE ACT

House Sponsors
Rep. Ann M. Williams, Kelly M. Cassidy, Bob Morgan, Michelle Mussman, Mary Edly-Allen, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer, Robyn Gabel and Barbara Hernandez

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
30 ILCS 105/5.891 new
55 ILCS 5/5-1184 new
65 ILCS 5/11-42-17 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Carryout Bag Fee Act. Provides that a carryout bag fee of $0.10 is imposed on each carryout bag used by a customer at retail establishments, except in municipalities with a population greater than 1,000,000, with $0.03 being returned to the retail establishment, $0.04 into the Carryout Bag Fee Fund, $0.01 to the Prairie Research Institute of the University of Illinois, $0.01 into the Solid Waste Management Fund, and $0.01 into the Partners for Conservation Fund. Provides that the carryout bag fee does not apply to the retail sale or use of carryout bags that are used to carry items purchased under specified governmental food assistance programs. Repeals the new Act on January 1, 2026. Amends the State Finance Act making conforming changes. Amends the Counties Code and Illinois Municipal Code. Provides that a county or municipality may not ban, place a fee or tax on, or regulate in any other manner the use, disposition, content, taxation, or sale of carryout bags. Limits the applicability of the provisions as they relate to a county or municipality that charged a fee or tax on carryout bags on February 1, 2018 and specified recycling programs. Limits home rule powers.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/15/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/5/2019HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/13/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/14/2019HouseTo Sales, Amusement & Other Taxes Subcommittee
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/15/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  1/28/2020HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  1/28/2020HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  2/5/2020HouseTo Sales, Amusement & Other Taxes Subcommittee
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  2/25/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  9/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top