Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3544
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB3544  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Amy L. Grant - Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar - Blaine Wilhour - Chris Miller - Jennifer Sanalitro, John M. Cabello, William E Hauter, Jed Davis, Jason Bunting, Paul Jacobs, Martin McLaughlin, Brad Stephens, John Egofske, Dennis Tipsword, Jr., Brad Halbrook, Adam M. Niemerg, Kevin Schmidt, Travis Weaver, Randy E. Frese and Dan Swanson

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  2/17/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
5 ILCS 100/5-45.35 new
35 ILCS 5/240 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Creates an income tax credit for custodians of qualifying pupils for eligible education expenses related to online learning, including computers, printers, internet access, textbooks, tutors, and educational facilitators. Provides for an additional credit if the custodian is also an eligible teacher. Creates an income tax credit for employers of custodians of qualifying pupils for eligible expenditures paid by the employer on behalf of the custodian. Provides that the credit is exempt from the Act's automatic sunset provision. Amends the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act to provide for emergency rulemaking. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/17/2023HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Amy L. Grant
  2/17/2023HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William E Hauter
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jed Davis
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Bunting
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Jacobs
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Stephens
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Egofske
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Miller
  5/11/2023HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Miller
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Miller
  5/11/2023HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  5/11/2023HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  5/11/2023HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Chris Miller
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis Tipsword, Jr.
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Halbrook
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam M. Niemerg
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Schmidt
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Travis Weaver
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Sanalitro
  5/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Swanson

Back To Top