Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HJRCA0041
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HJRCA0041  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Terra Costa Howard - Ryan Spain - Kelly M. Cassidy - Tim Butler - Mary Edly-Allen, Terri Bryant, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer, Jeff Keicher, Dan Caulkins, Lindsey LaPointe, Anne Stava-Murray, Joyce Mason, Emanuel Chris Welch, Dan Brady, Michael J. Zalewski, Sonya M. Harper, Thomas M. Bennett, Daniel Swanson and Norine K. Hammond

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 3 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Removes the requirement for each Legislative District to be divided into 2 Representative Districts. Modifies provisions concerning legislative redistricting. Provides specified requirements for each Legislative District, Representative District, and Congressional District for redistricting purposes. Replaces the current method of legislative redistricting with a 17-member Commission, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the most senior Supreme Court Justice of a different political party in accordance with specified criteria. Specifies requirements for the Commission concerning redistricting plans. Adds provisions concerning the membership of the Commission and budgetary matters related to the Commission. Provides the Supreme Court with original and exclusive jurisdiction over redistricting matters. Defines terms. Makes conforming and other changes. Effective upon being declared adopted and applicable to redistricting beginning in 2021 and to the election of General Assembly members beginning in 2022.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terri Bryant
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  2/18/2020HouseRead in Full a First Time
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  2/24/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/28/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  5/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
  5/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  6/2/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top