Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5673
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5673  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. LaToya Greenwood - Lawrence Walsh, Jr. - Ryan Spain - Jay Hoffman - Jehan Gordon-Booth, Dan Caulkins, David A. Welter, Norine K. Hammond, Justin Slaughter, Tony McCombie, Elizabeth Hernandez, Charles Meier, Daniel Swanson, Darren Bailey, Yehiel M. Kalish, C.D. Davidsmeyer, Amy Grant and Katie Stuart

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 3855/1-10
20 ILCS 3855/1-75
220 ILCS 5/8-103B
220 ILCS 5/8-218 new
220 ILCS 5/16-102
220 ILCS 5/16-107.6
220 ILCS 5/16-108.5
220 ILCS 5/16-108.19 new
220 ILCS 5/16-108.20 new
220 ILCS 5/16-128A

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Power Agency Act. For electric utilities that serve less than 3,000,000 retail customers but more than 500,000 retail customers in this State: defines "energy efficiency"; in provisions concerning the renewable portfolio standards, specifies the goals for procurement of renewable energy credits and cost-effective renewable energy resources that shall be included in the long-term renewable resources procurement plan and makes other changes concerning these procurements; and provides for the calculation of the cost of equity for the purposes of recovering all reasonable and prudently incurred costs of energy efficiency measures from retail customers. Provides that savings of fuels other than electricity achieved by measures that educate about, incentivize, encourage or otherwise support the use of electricity to power vehicles shall count towards the applicable annual incremental goal and shall not be included in determining certain limits. Amends the Public Utilities Act. Provides that an electric utility that serves less than 3,000,000 retail customers but more than 500,000 customers in this State may plan for, construct, install, control, own, manage, or operate photovoltaic electricity production facilities and any energy storage facilities that are planned for, constructed, installed, controlled, owned, managed or operated in connection with photovoltaic electricity production facilities without obtaining a certificate of public convenience and necessity subject to specified terms and conditions. Defines "electric vehicle", "electric vehicle charging station", and "energy storage" for the purposes of the Electric Service Customer Choice and Rate Relief Law of 1997. Provides that, beginning in 2022, without obtaining any approvals from the Illinois Commerce Commission or any other agency, regardless of whether any such approval would otherwise be required, a participating utility that is a combination utility shall pay $1,000,000 per year for 10 years to the energy low-income and support program. Adds provisions authorizing certain utilities to plan for, construct, install, control, own, manage or operate electric vehicle charging infrastructure, including, but not limited to, electric vehicle charging stations within their service territories. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/21/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  2/21/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  2/21/2020HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  2/25/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/25/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/25/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/25/2020HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Darren Bailey
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Yehiel M. Kalish
  3/4/2020HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  3/17/2020HouseAssigned to Public Utilities Committee
  5/21/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  7/9/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  9/3/2020HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top