Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1750
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1750  95th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. George Scully, Jr. - John E. Bradley - Robert F. Flider - Lisa M. Dugan - Daniel V. Beiser, Mike Boland, Elizabeth Hernandez, Elga L. Jefferies, John D'Amico, Michael K. Smith, Lou Lang, Jack McGuire, Mary E. Flowers, Brandon W. Phelps, LaShawn K. Ford, Linda Chapa LaVia, Fred Crespo, Naomi D. Jakobsson, Dan Reitz, Gary Hannig, Greg Harris, Elaine Nekritz, Joseph M. Lyons, Patrick J Verschoore, Thomas Holbrook, Careen M Gordon, Wyvetter H. Younge, Milton Patterson, Harry Osterman, Eddie Washington, Maria Antonia Berrios, Luis Arroyo, Kurt M. Granberg, Bill Mitchell and Jay C. Hoffman

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Ira I. Silverstein - John O. Jones - William R. Haine - Gary Forby and Michael W. Frerichs)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
220 ILCS 5/16-102
220 ILCS 5/16-111
220 ILCS 5/16-113

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Electric Service Customer Choice and Rate Relief Law of 1997 in the Public Utilities Act. Changes the definition of "mandatory transition period" to include the period from the effective date through the date on which the Illinois Commerce Commission has approved declarations of competitive service for all classes of service offered in the service areas of all electric utilities that, on December 31, 2005, served at least 100,000 customers in Illinois. Requires the Commission to order certain utilities to file and implement tariffs to reinstate all rates charged to the electric utilities' customers on December 31, 2006, within 10 days after the effective date. Requires the Commission to order the electric utilities to refund to the utilities' residential customers any amounts charged to such residential customers, from January 1, 2007 until 10 days after the effective date that exceed the rates charged to the electric utilities' residential customers on December 31, 2006. Provides that the refund must be issued within 30 days after the effective date and shall include interest on the full amount of the refund, at the same interest rate the Commission requires utilities to pay on customer deposits. Prohibits the Commission from taking certain actions prior to 2010 with respect to (i) initiating, authorizing, or ordering any change by way of increase or (ii) in approving an application for a merger, imposing a condition requiring any filing for an increase, decrease, or change in or other review of a utility's rates or enforcing such a condition. Makes other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/23/2007HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. George Scully, Jr.
  2/23/2007HouseFirst Reading
  2/23/2007HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/23/2007HouseAssigned to Electric Utility Oversight Committee
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John E. Bradley
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert F. Flider
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elga L. Jefferies
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John D'Amico
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael K. Smith
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack McGuire
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaShawn K. Ford
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Reitz
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gary Hannig
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Greg Harris
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joseph M. Lyons
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J Verschoore
  2/27/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  2/27/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Careen M Gordon
  2/27/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wyvetter H. Younge
  2/27/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Milton Patterson
  3/1/2007HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Electric Utility Oversight Committee; 006-000-003
  3/1/2007HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/1/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Osterman
  3/2/2007HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/2/2007HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/6/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Washington
  3/6/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  3/6/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  3/6/2007HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 092-005-019
  3/6/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kurt M. Granberg
  3/7/2007SenateArrive in Senate
  3/7/2007SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading March 8, 2007
  3/7/2007SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Ira I. Silverstein
  3/7/2007SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. John O. Jones
  3/7/2007SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. William R. Haine
  3/8/2007SenateFirst Reading
  3/8/2007SenateReferred to Rules
  3/8/2007SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Gary Forby
  3/20/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  4/12/2007SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael W. Frerichs
  5/24/2007SenateAssigned to Executive
  5/30/2007SenateWaive Posting Notice
  5/30/2007SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As May 31, 2007
  5/30/2007SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As May 31, 2007
  5/31/2007SenateDo Pass Executive; 007-003-003
  5/31/2007SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading June 1, 2007
  5/31/2007SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As December 31, 2007
  6/6/2007SenateSecond Reading
  6/6/2007SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading June 7, 2007
  6/20/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay C. Hoffman
  7/27/2007SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Secretary by Sen. Dale A. Righter
  7/27/2007SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules
  12/3/2007SenatePursuant to Senate Rule 3-9(b) / Referred to Rules
  5/15/2008SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As May 22, 2008; Substantive House Bills Out of Committee
  5/31/2008SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As January 13, 2009
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top