Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3972
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3972  96th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr. - Naomi D. Jakobsson - Lou Lang - Thomas Holbrook - Ron Stephens, Mark L. Walker, Mike Boland, Elaine Nekritz, Jehan A. Gordon, Karen A. Yarbrough, William Davis, Deborah L. Graham, Marlow H. Colvin, Jack D. Franks, Keith Farnham, Esther Golar and Charles E. Jefferson

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Emil Jones, III)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  8/11/2009HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0312

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/19-3from Ch. 46, par. 19-3
10 ILCS 5/20-2from Ch. 46, par. 20-2
10 ILCS 5/20-2.1from Ch. 46, par. 20-2.1
10 ILCS 5/20-2.2from Ch. 46, par. 20-2.2
10 ILCS 5/20-2.3from Ch. 46, par. 20-2.3
10 ILCS 5/20-3from Ch. 46, par. 20-3

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. With respect to absentee ballots, provides that those returned by mail must be postmarked by midnight preceding election day, for counting no later than during the period for counting provisional ballots.

DateChamber Action
  2/26/2009HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.
  2/26/2009HouseFirst Reading
  2/26/2009HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/3/2009HouseAssigned to Elections & Campaign Reform Committee
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ron Stephens
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan A. Gordon
  3/5/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  3/10/2009HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Elections & Campaign Reform Committee; 009-000-000
  3/11/2009HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/17/2009HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/17/2009HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah L. Graham
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith Farnham
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Esther Golar
  3/18/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Jefferson
  3/18/2009HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 115-000-000
  3/19/2009SenateArrive in Senate
  3/19/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading March 24, 2009
  3/25/2009SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. James F. Clayborne, Jr.
  3/26/2009SenateFirst Reading
  3/26/2009SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/22/2009SenateAssigned to Elections
  4/23/2009SenateAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Emil Jones, III
  4/29/2009SenatePostponed - Elections
  5/6/2009SenateDo Pass Elections; 008-000-000
  5/6/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading May 7, 2009
  5/13/2009SenateSecond Reading
  5/13/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading May 14, 2009
  5/14/2009SenateThird Reading - Passed; 054-000-000
  5/14/2009HousePassed Both Houses
  6/12/2009HouseSent to the Governor
  8/11/2009HouseGovernor Approved
  8/11/2009HouseEffective Date January 1, 2010
  8/11/2009HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0312

Back To Top