Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5005
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB5005  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock - Gregg Johnson - Suzanne M. Ness - Hoan Huynh - Sue Scherer, Jenn Ladisch Douglass, Anne Stava-Murray, William "Will" Davis, Lindsey LaPointe, Laura Faver Dias, Maura Hirschauer, Joyce Mason, Sharon Chung, Cyril Nichols, Michael J. Kelly, Tracy Katz Muhl, Harry Benton, Emanuel "Chris" Welch, Eva-Dina Delgado, Mary Gill, Abdelnasser Rashid, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Michelle Mussman, Ann M. Williams, Katie Stuart, Janet Yang Rohr and Brandun Schweizer

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/16/2024HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 110-000-000

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
15 ILCS 505/16.5
15 ILCS 505/16.8

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the State Treasurer Act. In provisions concerning the College Savings Pool, provides that an account may be rolled over into a Roth IRA account, to the extent permitted by Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code. In provisions concerning the Illinois Higher Education Savings Program, provides that the definition of "eligible child" includes a child born or adopted after December 31, 2022, to a parent who is a resident of Illinois at the time of the birth or adoption, as evidenced by documentation received by the Treasurer from a parent or legal guardian of the child. Makes conforming changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/7/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock
  2/8/2024HouseFirst Reading
  2/8/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/8/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jenn Ladisch Douglass
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregg Johnson
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne M. Ness
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Hoan Huynh
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William "Will" Davis
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sharon Chung
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  2/16/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  2/16/2024HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Sue Scherer
  2/27/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Kelly
  2/27/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tracy Katz Muhl
  2/28/2024HouseAssigned to State Government Administration Committee
  3/6/2024HouseDo Pass / Short Debate State Government Administration Committee; 009-000-000
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Benton
  3/7/2024HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/21/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel "Chris" Welch
  4/3/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  4/3/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Gill
  4/10/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid
  4/11/2024HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/11/2024HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/15/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/15/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  4/15/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  4/15/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/15/2024HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/16/2024HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 110-000-000
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandun Schweizer

Back To Top