Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HR0292
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HR0292  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Carol Ammons - La Shawn K. Ford - Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Rita Mayfield - Maurice A. West, II, Mary Beth Canty, Will Guzzardi, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Nabeela Syed, Laura Faver Dias, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Mary E. Flowers, Barbara Hernandez, Dagmara Avelar, Lilian Jiménez, Norma Hernandez, Cyril Nichols, Abdelnasser Rashid, Camille Y. Lilly, Kimberly Du Buclet, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Suzanne M. Ness, Kam Buckner, Aaron M. Ortiz, Lindsey LaPointe, Kelly M. Cassidy, Jawaharial Williams, Nicholas K. Smith and Sonya M. Harper

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  5/24/2023HouseResolution Adopted

Synopsis As Introduced
Declares the State of Illinois should take the lead on issues of Pan-Africanism, citizenship in Africa, and reparatory justice, and the State should champion the Eighth Pan-African Congress Part 1 (8PAC1) and its agenda to develop a continental-wide diaspora citizenship plan, establish the African Diaspora as the 6th Region of the African Union (AU), and determine a permanent headquarters for the 6th Region. Calls upon the State to immediately, through its African Descent-Citizens Reparations Commission (ADCRC), provide matrilineal and patrilineal DNA testing through African ancestry to determine the ancestral lineages and territories of origin of its Black residents so that they can seek citizenship in their ancestral homelands, if so desired. Calls upon the State to become the first to conduct a repatriation census in preparation for honoring President Abraham Lincoln's desire for voluntary repatriation with compensation and to make conducting the repatriation census its immediate priority.

DateChamber Action
  5/15/2023HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Carol Ammons
  5/16/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Beth Canty
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nabeela Syed
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lilian Jiménez
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norma Hernandez
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kimberly Du Buclet
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne M. Ness
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kam Buckner
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  5/19/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  5/19/2023HouseAssigned to State Government Administration Committee
  5/24/2023HouseMotion Filed to Suspend Rule 21 State Government Administration Committee; Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  5/24/2023HouseMotion to Suspend Rule 21 - Prevailed 004-000-000
  5/24/2023HouseRecommends Be Adopted State Government Administration Committee; 005-002-000
  5/24/2023HousePlaced on Calendar Order of Resolutions
  5/24/2023HouseResolution Adopted

Back To Top