Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1462
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1462  100th General Assembly

Short Description:  REGULATION-TECH

House Sponsors
Rep. Janet Yang Rohr - Anne Stava-Murray - Maura Hirschauer - Katie Stuart - Will Guzzardi, Suzanne Ness, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Michelle Mussman, Kathleen Willis, Denyse Wang Stoneback, Bob Morgan, Robyn Gabel, Theresa Mah, Jawaharial Williams, Michael J. Zalewski, Aaron M. Ortiz, LaToya Greenwood, Natalie A. Manley, Cyril Nichols, Kelly M. Cassidy, Joyce Mason, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Sue Scherer, Dagmara Avelar, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Justin Slaughter, Lindsey LaPointe, Delia C. Ramirez and Michael Halpin

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
215 ILCS 5/123D-1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Insurance Code. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the purpose of the Article regarding nonprofit risk organizations.

House Floor Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
215 ILCS 5/123D-1
Adds reference to:
New Act
30 ILCS 105/5.970 new

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Creates the Prescription Drug Affordability Act. Defines terms. Establishes the Prescription Drug Affordability Board and provides that the Board's purpose is to protect State residents, State and local governments, commercial health plans, health care providers, pharmacies licensed in the State, and other stakeholders within the health care system from the high costs of prescription drug products. Contains other provisions about the Board, including: members of the Board; conflicts of interest; terms of members; the hiring of an executive director, general counsel, and staff for the Board; staff salary; meetings of the Board; and powers and duties of the Board. Creates the Prescription Drug Affordability Stakeholder Council with the purpose to provide stakeholder input to assist the Prescription Drug Affordability Board in making decisions as required under the Act. Contains other provisions about the Council, including: members of the Council; terms of members; and reimbursement of member travel expenses. Provides that the Board shall identify specified prescription drug products and determine whether each prescription drug product should be subject to a cost review. Provides that if the Board finds that spending on a prescription drug product has led or will lead to an affordability challenge, the Board shall establish an upper payment limit after considering: (i) the cost of administering the drug; (ii) the cost of delivering the drug to consumers; and (iii) other relevant administrative costs related to the drug. Includes provisions regarding remedies and an appeal process. Creates the Prescription Drug Affordability Fund to be used only to provide funding for the Board and for the purposes authorized under the Act. Provides that the Board shall submit a report to the General Assembly including specified information. Provides that the Board shall conduct a study of the operation of the generic drug market that includes specified information on or before June 1, 2023. Includes a provision on term expiration for Board and Council members. Makes conforming changes in the State Finance Act. Effective January 1, 2023.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/17/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/2/2021HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  3/11/2021HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Executive Committee; 014-000-000
  3/17/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate **
  4/20/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/20/2021HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate **
  4/23/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/4/2022HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) April 8, 2022
  4/4/2022HouseApproved for Consideration Rules Committee; 003-002-000
  4/4/2022HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommends Be Adopted Rules Committee; 003-002-000
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  4/4/2022HouseChief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/4/2022HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted 056-000-001
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Denyse Wang Stoneback
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  4/11/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  9/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top