Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2428
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2428  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Ryan Spain, Jonathan Carroll, Justin Slaughter, Michael D. Unes, Martin J. Moylan, Rita Mayfield, Emanuel Chris Welch and La Shawn K. Ford

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 200/9-275

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Property Tax Code. Provides that provisions of the Code concerning erroneous homestead exemptions apply to all counties (currently, only counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants). Contains provisions concerning an amnesty period in counties with fewer than 3,000,000 inhabitants for taxpayers who owe property taxes due to an erroneous homestead exemption.

DateChamber Action
  2/6/2017HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/8/2017HouseFirst Reading
  2/8/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/22/2017HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/9/2017HouseTo Property Tax Subcommittee
  3/16/2017HouseRecommends Do Pass Subcommittee/ Revenue & Finance Committee; 006-000-000
  3/16/2017HouseRemains in Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/16/2017HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Revenue & Finance Committee; 011-000-000
  3/16/2017HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/7/2017HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Ryan Spain
  4/7/2017HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  4/26/2017HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/26/2017HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  4/27/2017HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 2 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Ryan Spain
  4/27/2017HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 2 Referred to Rules Committee
  4/28/2017HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 2 Recommends Be Adopted Rules Committee; 004-000-000
  4/28/2017HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael D. Unes
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  5/23/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top