Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5855
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5855  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Bob Morgan - La Shawn K. Ford - Barbara Hernandez - Maura Hirschauer, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Rita Mayfield, Thaddeus Jones, Margaret Croke, Daniel Didech, Robyn Gabel, Jonathan Carroll, Janet Yang Rohr, Anne Stava-Murray, Kelly M. Cassidy, Ann M. Williams, Kathleen Willis, Kambium Buckner, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Michelle Mussman, Mark L. Walker, Michael J. Zalewski, Dagmara Avelar, Joyce Mason, Anna Moeller, Terra Costa Howard, Theresa Mah, Carol Ammons, Will Guzzardi, Sam Yingling, Elizabeth Hernandez, Denyse Wang Stoneback, Greg Harris, Diane Blair-Sherlock and Debbie Meyers-Martin

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 2605/2605-35was 20 ILCS 2605/55a-3
20 ILCS 2605/2605-51.1
430 ILCS 65/2from Ch. 38, par. 83-2
430 ILCS 65/4from Ch. 38, par. 83-4
430 ILCS 65/8from Ch. 38, par. 83-8
430 ILCS 67/10
430 ILCS 67/40
430 ILCS 67/45
430 ILCS 67/55
520 ILCS 5/3.1-5
520 ILCS 5/3.1-9
720 ILCS 5/24-1from Ch. 38, par. 24-1
720 ILCS 5/24-1.9 new
720 ILCS 5/24-1.10 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois State Police Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois. Provides that the Division of Criminal Investigation of the Illinois State Police shall conduct other investigations as provided by law, including, but not limited to, investigations of human trafficking, illegal drug trafficking, and illegal firearms trafficking. Provides that the Division of Criminal Investigation shall provide statewide coordination and strategy pertaining to firearm-related intelligence, firearms trafficking interdiction, and investigations. Amends the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. Eliminates provisions that permit a person under 21 years of age who is not an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or the Illinois National Guard to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification Card with parental consent. Amends the Wildlife Code. Provides that when a person under 21 years of age is hunting under the supervision of a adult, the adult must possess a Firearm Owners Identification Card. Amends the Firearms Restraining Order Act. Provides that the State's Attorney of the county where the petition is filed may act as a friend of the court in any action filed under the Act. Provides that a petitioner may request a one-year (rather than 6-month) firearms restraining order. Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. Makes it unlawful to manufacture, deliver, sell, or purchase or cause to be manufactured, delivered, sold, or purchased or cause to be possessed by another, an assault weapon, assault weapon attachment, .50 caliber rifle, or .50 caliber cartridge. Makes it unlawful for any person to knowingly possess an assault weapon, .50 caliber rifle, or .50 caliber cartridge 300 days after the effective date of the amendatory Act, except possession of weapons registered with the Illinois State Police in the time provided. Provides exemptions and penalties. Prohibits the manufacture, delivery, sale, purchase, or possession of large capacity ammunition feeding devices. Defines terms. Provides exemptions and penalties. Makes other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  12/1/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Bob Morgan
  12/1/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  12/1/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  12/1/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  12/1/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  12/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  12/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  12/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  12/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  12/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  12/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  12/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Denyse Wang Stoneback
  12/13/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Greg Harris
  12/19/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock
  1/4/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top