Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB3116
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB3116  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Linda Holmes - Christopher Belt, Michael E. Hastings, Terri Bryant, Suzy Glowiak Hilton, Scott M. Bennett, Rachelle Crowe, Dave Syverson, John F. Curran, Thomas Cullerton, Donald P. DeWitte, Mattie Hunter, Sue Rezin, Kimberly A. Lightford, Steve Stadelman, Patrick J. Joyce, Bill Cunningham, Meg Loughran Cappel, Adriane Johnson, Jil Tracy, Jason Plummer, Robert F. Martwick, Elgie R. Sims, Jr. and Antonio Muñoz

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
305 ILCS 5/5-5.2a new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Medical Assistance Article of the Illinois Public Aid Code. Declares that all changes to the existing nursing facility direct care reimbursement rate methodologies and to the bed assessment and collection procedures must be approached with caution, executed deliberately, and held to the highest of standards in order to protect nursing facility residents from disruption in care, protect workers from lost wages and jobs, and protect providers from the increased instability within the industry. Provides that a Nursing Facility Oversight Committee (Committee) shall be named by the 4 legislative leaders to oversee, assess, and provide direction to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services as it relates to long term care services. Contains provisions on the Committee's composition, meetings, proxy voting, and other matters. Requires the Department to seek the advice and consent of the Committee prior to filing emergency or permanent administrative rules with the Secretary of State or submitting Medicaid State Plan amendments and all correspondence to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Requires the Department to prepare transition plans for the redesign of the direct care reimbursement rate methodologies and the assessment tax schedule and collection proceedings. Contains provisions concerning advanced notice to nursing facilities of all payment, award, and rate changes; a quarterly direct care per diem reimbursement rate for each nursing facility; direct care reimbursement rate components subject to redesign; establishment of a single quarterly non-Medicare occupied bed varied tax assessment; State Plan amendments to permit expedited implementation of the redesigned bed assessment; compliance requirements for managed care organizations; penalties for non-compliance; and other matters. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/11/2022SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Linda Holmes
  1/11/2022SenateFirst Reading
  1/11/2022SenateReferred to Assignments
  1/11/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  1/11/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  1/11/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Terri Bryant
  1/12/2022SenateSponsor Removed Sen. David Koehler
  1/12/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Suzy Glowiak Hilton
  1/12/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  1/12/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Rachelle Crowe
  1/12/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  1/13/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John F. Curran
  1/13/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  1/13/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Donald P. DeWitte
  1/13/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  1/14/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  1/14/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Doris Turner
  1/19/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  1/19/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve Stadelman
  1/20/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Patrick J. Joyce
  1/21/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  1/21/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel
  1/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Adriane Johnson
  1/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  1/28/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason Plummer
  1/28/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt
  2/8/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Robert F. Martwick
  2/10/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  3/18/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Antonio Muñoz
  4/4/2022SenateSponsor Removed Sen. Doris Turner
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top