Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2581
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2581  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Michael J. Zalewski - Nicholas K. Smith, Celina Villanueva, John C. D'Amico, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Yehiel M. Kalish, Camille Y. Lilly, Jawaharial Williams, William Davis, Theresa Mah, Sonya M. Harper and Anna Moeller

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 200/15-170

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Property Tax Code. Provides that, in counties with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants, a taxpayer who has been granted a senior citizens homestead exemption need not reapply for the exemption. Provides that the county assessor shall establish procedures with the county recorder of deeds or the county clerk, as applicable, to determine whether a person who has been granted a senior citizens homestead exemption has conveyed ownership of the property or is deceased. Provides that, if the person has conveyed ownership of the property or is deceased, then the county assessor shall mail notice to the new owner of the property stating that (i) the exemption will be removed from the property and (ii) the new property owner may reapply for the exemption if the property becomes qualified.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/13/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/13/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2019HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/6/2019HouseTo Property Tax Subcommittee
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  5/23/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  6/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  6/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  6/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  6/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Yehiel M. Kalish
  7/2/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  7/26/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  7/30/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  8/15/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  8/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  8/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top