Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2343
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2343 General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth - Joyce Mason - Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Debbie Meyers-Martin - Michael Halpin, Carol Ammons, Sam Yingling, Celina Villanueva, Sonya M. Harper, LaToya Greenwood, Deb Conroy, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Kathleen Willis, Martin J. Moylan, Michelle Mussman, Anna Moeller, Robyn Gabel, Anne Stava-Murray, Justin Slaughter, Delia C. Ramirez, William Davis, Camille Y. Lilly, Elizabeth Hernandez, Theresa Mah, Sara Feigenholtz, Kelly M. Cassidy, Gregory Harris, Jonathan Carroll, Bob Morgan, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Daniel Didech, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer, Kambium Buckner, Maurice A. West, II, Will Guzzardi and Ann M. Williams

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
30 ILCS 105/5.891 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Healthy Workplace Act and amends the State Finance Act. Requires employers to provide specified paid sick days to employees. Sets forth the purposes for and manner in which the sick days may be used. Contains provisions regarding employer responsibilities, unlawful employer practices, and other matters. Provides that the Department of Labor shall administer the Act. Authorizes the imposition of civil penalties. Authorizes individuals to file civil actions with respect to violations. Creates the Healthy Workplace Fund as a special fund in the State treasury. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  2/13/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/13/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2019HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/1/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/21/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/22/2019HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/22/2019HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/22/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/26/2019HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  3/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  3/27/2019HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  3/29/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/29/2019HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(c) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/3/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/3/2019HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/3/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top