Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3834
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3834 General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Frances Ann Hurley - Debbie Meyers-Martin - Curtis J. Tarver, II - Kambium Buckner, Kelly M. Burke, Nicholas K. Smith and Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
70 ILCS 3615/3B.09c new
70 ILCS 3615/4.01from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 704.01
70 ILCS 3615/4.09from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 704.09

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends Regional Transportation Authority Act. Provides that Metra Electric Line fares for transportation wholly within the City of Chicago shall be equal to the fares set by the Chicago Transit Board for rail transportation. Provides that fares for Metra Electric Line transportation that originate or conclude outside of the City of Chicago shall be set by the Commuter Rail Board and be based on the zone in which the transportation originates and concludes. Provides that the Commuter Rail Board shall accept the Ventra card for use on the Metra Electric Line and riders using the Ventra card shall pay through the Ventra application or at a station. Provides that the Commuter Rail Board shall adopt a policy to periodically check riders' tickets, including Ventra tickets, on the Metra Electric Line to determine whether a rider has paid for transportation at the station or on the Ventra application. Provides that lost revenue experienced by the Commuter Rail Board due to the implementation of any requirement relating to specified Metra Electric Line fare provisions are not "costs" in the calculation of whether fares and charges received in each fiscal year equal at least 50% of the aggregate costs of providing public transportation. Effective June 1, 2020.

DateChamber Action
  4/30/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  4/30/2019HouseFirst Reading
  4/30/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  5/8/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  5/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  5/30/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  1/2/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  2/18/2020HouseAssigned to Transportation: Regulation, Roads & Bridges Committee
  3/12/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top