Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4837
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4837 General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Maurice A. West, II - Kelly M. Cassidy - Sonya M. Harper - Jehan Gordon-Booth, Will Guzzardi, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer, Theresa Mah, Anne Stava-Murray, Elizabeth Hernandez, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Mark L. Walker, Nicholas K. Smith, Carol Ammons, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Rita Mayfield, Mary E. Flowers, La Shawn K. Ford, Barbara Hernandez and Lakesia Collins

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Employee Background Fairness Act. Provides that an employer may not refuse to hire an individual and may not discharge an individual because of the individual's criminal history unless the individual has one or more convictions and there is a direct relationship between one of more of an individual's convictions and the specific employment sought. Prohibits retaliation for exercising rights under the Act. Provides that an individual denied or discharged from employment because of his or her criminal history in violation of the Act may recover from the employer in a civil action: (1) damages in the amount of $2,000 or actual damages, whichever is greater; (2) costs and reasonable attorney's fees as allowed by the court; and (3) any other appropriate relief, including punitive damages. Defines terms. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  2/18/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/18/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  2/25/2020HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  7/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  11/3/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top