Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4888
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4888 General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz - Fred Crespo - Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Grant Wehrli - Terra Costa Howard, Daniel Didech, Mary Edly-Allen, Bob Morgan, La Shawn K. Ford, Robyn Gabel, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer, Katie Stuart, Kelly M. Cassidy, John Connor, Will Guzzardi, Ann M. Williams, Deb Conroy, Anne Stava-Murray, Barbara Hernandez, Michelle Mussman, Theresa Mah and Rita Mayfield

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
5 ILCS 140/7from Ch. 116, par. 207
30 ILCS 105/5.930 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Pharmaceutical Recovery Act. Requires covered manufacturers to, no later than July 1, 2021 or 6 months after becoming a covered manufacturer, whichever is later, participate in an approved drug take-back program or have established and implemented a drug take-back program independently or as part of a group of covered manufacturers. Provides requirements for the drug take-back program and for manufacturer program operators. Requires each manufacturer program operator to submit a proposal for the establishment and implementation of a drug take-back program to the Environmental Protection Agency for review and approval. Contains provisions regarding changes or modifications to drug take-back programs, promotion of drug take-back programs, annual reports, funding, and reimbursement. Requires covered manufacturers and manufacturer program operators to submit an annual $5,000 registration fee. Provides civil penalties. Creates the Pharmaceutical Take-Back Reimbursement Program Fund and makes a conforming change in the State Finance Act. Contains other provisions. Amends the Freedom of Information Act. Provides that proprietary information submitted to the Environmental Protection Agency under the Pharmaceutical Recovery Act is exempt from inspection and copying under the Act. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Fred Crespo
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/14/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  2/18/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/24/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/25/2020HouseAssigned to Prescription Drug Affordability & Accessibility Committee
  2/25/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top