Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SJRCA0018
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SJRCA0018 General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Melinda Bush - John F. Curran - Dan McConchie - Laura Ellman - Suzy Glowiak Hilton, Dale A. Righter, Jason Plummer, Sue Rezin, Heather A. Steans, Ann Gillespie, Jil Tracy, Jim Oberweis, Brian W. Stewart, Craig Wilcox, Jason A. Barickman, Neil Anderson, William E. Brady, Paul Schimpf, Steve McClure, Dale Fowler, Dave Syverson, Donald P. DeWitte, Chapin Rose, Scott M. Bennett, Chuck Weaver, Julie A. Morrison, David Koehler, Laura M. Murphy, Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant, Pat McGuire and Laura Fine

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021SenateSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 3 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Removes the requirement for each Legislative District to be divided into 2 Representative Districts. Modifies provisions concerning legislative redistricting. Provides specified requirements for each Legislative District, Representative District, and Congressional District for redistricting purposes. Replaces the current method of legislative redistricting with a 17-member Commission, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the most senior Supreme Court Justice of a different political party in accordance with specified criteria. Specifies requirements for the Commission concerning redistricting plans. Adds provisions concerning the membership of the Commission and budgetary matters related to the Commission. Provides the Supreme Court with original and exclusive jurisdiction over redistricting matters. Defines terms. Makes conforming and other changes. Effective upon being declared adopted and applicable to redistricting beginning in 2021 and to the election of General Assembly members beginning in 2022.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2020SenateFiled with Secretary
  2/14/2020SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/14/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale A. Righter
  2/14/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason Plummer
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. John F. Curran
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan McConchie
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Heather A. Steans
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Ellman
  2/18/2020SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Suzy Glowiak Hilton
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ann Gillespie
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jim Oberweis
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Brian W. Stewart
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Craig Wilcox
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason A. Barickman
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William E. Brady
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Paul Schimpf
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve McClure
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Donald P. DeWitte
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chapin Rose
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  2/19/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chuck Weaver
  2/20/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  2/24/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  2/24/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  2/26/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant
  2/28/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pat McGuire
  2/28/2020SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Fine
  1/13/2021SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top