Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2414
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2414  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Deb Conroy - Katie Stuart - Jonathan Carroll - Joyce Mason, Daniel Didech, Sam Yingling, Delia C. Ramirez, Robyn Gabel, Kelly M. Cassidy, Bob Morgan, Will Guzzardi, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Carol Ammons, Lindsey LaPointe and William Davis

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/1A-16.5
10 ILCS 5/3-6

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Allows the State Board of Elections to receive voter registration information provided by applicants using electronic voter registration portals (rather than the Board's website). Provides that notwithstanding any other provision of law, a person who is otherwise qualified to vote may preregister to vote on or after that person's 16th birthday, with the registration held in abeyance by the appropriate election authority until that individual attains the required age to vote. Requires preregistration to be completed using the online voter registration system or an electronic voter registration portal. Provides that for the purposes of the Code, an individual who is 16 years of age or older (rather than who is 17 years of age and who will be 18 years of age on the date of the general or consolidated election) shall be deemed competent to execute and attest to any voter registration forms.

DateChamber Action
  2/17/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/17/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/2/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  3/5/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections Committee
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  3/23/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top