Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3340
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3340  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Theresa Mah - Aaron M. Ortiz - Carol Ammons - Jonathan Carroll - William Davis, Kelly M. Cassidy, Celina Villanueva, Curtis J. Tarver, II, Fred Crespo, Martin J. Moylan, André Thapedi, John Connor, Thaddeus Jones, Delia C. Ramirez, Kambium Buckner, Will Guzzardi, Anna Moeller, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Michelle Mussman, La Shawn K. Ford, Emanuel Chris Welch, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Robyn Gabel, Deb Conroy, Elizabeth Hernandez, Mark L. Walker, Karina Villa, Nicholas K. Smith, Maurice A. West, II, Anne Stava-Murray and Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 1305/1-75 new
20 ILCS 1305/1-80 new
20 ILCS 1305/1-85 new
20 ILCS 1505/1505-215 new
20 ILCS 4010/2008 new
820 ILCS 105/10from Ch. 48, par. 1010
820 ILCS 105/5 rep.
30 ILCS 105/5.891 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Department of Human Services Act. Contains a declaration of policy and intent. Requires the Department of Human Services, in partnership with specified State agencies, to develop and implement a plan to phase out, by July 1, 2024, authorizations under the Minimum Wage Law to pay an employee with a disability less than the minimum wage. Requires the Department to consult with specified organizations when implementing the phase-out plan. Requires the Secretary of Human Services to submit reports to the Governor and the General Assembly on the benchmarks and status of achieving the outcomes included in the phase-out plan and recommendations for funding levels or other resources necessary to implement the phase-out plan. Amends the Department of Labor Law. Prohibits the Director of Labor from authorizing a work activities center or other sheltered workshop to pay an employee who has a disability less than the minimum wage unless certain requirements are met. Amends the Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities Law. Requires the Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities to commission an independent study of the phase-out plan; determine whether the plans are having their intended effects; and make recommendations for possible changes in State law or policy regarding the employment of individuals with disabilities. Requires the Council to report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly by July 1, 2023. Amends the Minimum Wage Law. Provides that the State of Illinois shall not fund any entity that pays individuals less than the minimum wage under a certificate issued by the United States Department of Labor that authorizes Community Rehabilitation Programs to pay individuals less than the wage otherwise required for the individuals under federal law. Effective immediately, except that the provisions amending the Minimum Wage Law take effect July 1, 2024.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/15/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/5/2019HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Celina Villanueva
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karina Villa
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/14/2019HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/20/2019HouseTo Wage Policy and Study Subcommittee
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2020HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top