Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0378
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0378  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  INS CD - CONT'D CANCER COVER

House Sponsors
Rep. Jim Sacia, Cynthia Soto, William Davis, Marlow H. Colvin, André M. Thapedi, Daniel V. Beiser, Mark L. Walker, Lisa M. Dugan, Susana A. Mendoza, Edward J. Acevedo, Elizabeth Hernandez and Emily McAsey

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
5 ILCS 375/6.11
55 ILCS 5/5-1069.3
65 ILCS 5/10-4-2.3
105 ILCS 5/10-22.3f
215 ILCS 5/356z.7was 215 ILCS 5/370r
215 ILCS 125/5-3from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1411.2
215 ILCS 5/356z.13

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the State Employees Group Insurance Act of 1971, Counties Code, Illinois Municipal Code, School Code, Health Maintenance Organization Act, and Illinois Insurance Code to add provisions concerning prescription drugs and cancer treatment. Provides that if a policy of accident and health or managed care plan amended, delivered, issued, or renewed in this State has an annual dollar limit for prescription drug coverage, that policy or plan may not discontinue or deny coverage for prescription drugs for the treatment of cancer, including leukemia, when an insured reaches the annual dollar limit for prescription drugs if the insured has started treatment for cancer. Provides that in such case, the policy shall continue to cover the prescription drugs for the treatment of cancer for that year of coverage. Renumbers a provision concerning shingles vaccine. Makes other changes.

DateChamber Action
  1/29/2009HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jim Sacia
  1/30/2009HouseFirst Reading
  1/30/2009HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/9/2009HouseAssigned to Insurance Committee
  2/19/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  2/19/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  2/19/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  2/19/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André M. Thapedi
  2/24/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  2/24/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  2/26/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  3/12/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Susana A. Mendoza
  3/13/2009HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/24/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edward J. Acevedo
  3/24/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/24/2009HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emily McAsey
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top