Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4484
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4484  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi - Jonathan Carroll - John M. Cabello, Mark Batinick, Allen Skillicorn, Chris Miller, Amy Grant, Jeff Keicher, Dan Caulkins, David A. Welter, Margo McDermed, Patrick Windhorst, Tom Weber and Joe Sosnowski

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
65 ILCS 5/11-13-1from Ch. 24, par. 11-13-1

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the End Aldermanic Privilege Law in the Illinois Municipal Code. Provides that, in the City of Chicago, a property owner, or a developer or contractor having the written permission of the property owner, shall not have any approvals under the Zoning Division denied because of an aldermanic hold, objection, extra-judicial or extra-legal request, or for any law or ordinance enacted or adopted after the date on which the property owner, developer, or contractor: (1) participated in a concept meeting for construction with representatives from the City of Chicago regarding the subject property; (2) filed a building permit application with the City of Chicago for the subject property; (3) presented a proposed development plan to a city council for the subject property; (4) substantially invested resources in the preparation of building plans, concept drawings, or securing building contracts for a preceding period of one year for the subject property; or (5) otherwise gave sufficient notice of an intent to develop to the pertinent regulatory authorities for the subject property. Allows suit against the State or the City of Chicago that seeks to enforce or impose a more restrictive law, regulation, ordinance, or resolution against the property owner, developer, or contractor and allows for a $5,000 civil penalty and other damages if the property owner's, developer's, or contractor's claim is successful. Limits home rule powers.

DateChamber Action
  2/4/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  2/4/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/4/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Miller
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  2/10/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Weber
  3/3/2020HouseAssigned to Cities & Villages Committee
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top