Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4836
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4836  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. David Reis - Tom Cross - Darlene J. Senger - Dennis M. Reboletti - Kay Hatcher, Rich Brauer, Raymond Poe, Michael G. Connelly, Elizabeth Coulson, John D. Cavaletto, JoAnn D. Osmond, Michael P. McAuliffe, Bill Mitchell, Dan Brady, Michael W. Tryon, Patricia R. Bellock, Donald L. Moffitt, Robert W. Pritchard, Sandy Cole, Renée Kosel, Suzanne Bassi, Ron Stephens, Timothy L. Schmitz, Sidney H. Mathias, Jim Watson, Jerry L. Mitchell, Richard P. Myers, Sandra M. Pihos, Rosemary Mulligan, Jim Sacia, Jil Tracy, Roger L. Eddy, Ed Sullivan, Jr. and Chapin Rose

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Matt Murphy - Kyle McCarter - Dan Duffy - Randall M. Hultgren - John J. Millner and Ronald Sandack)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  12/8/2010HouseBill Dead - No Positive Action Taken - Amendatory Veto

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Sunshine Commission Act. Provides for the appointment by the legislative leaders of a Sunshine Commission, consisting of 4 legislators and 4 public members, to conduct a thorough review of the relevance, efficiency, and effectiveness of each "State executive branch program". Requires the Commission to report its recommendations to the General Assembly within 6 months after the Act's effective date. Requires the General Assembly, by joint resolution, to approve or reject the report within 60 session days after the report is filed. Repeals the Act 2 years after its effective date. Effective immediately.

Governor Amendatory Veto Message
Recommends that the Governor appoint 4 members to the Sunshine Commission, that the experience qualification for members include social services, health care, labor, and education, that the Commission hold public meetings and allow comment, and that the Commission's report be posted on the Internet.

DateChamber Action
  1/12/2010HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. David Reis
  1/12/2010HouseFirst Reading
  1/12/2010HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/22/2010HouseAssigned to State Government Administration Committee
  3/3/2010HouseDo Pass / Short Debate State Government Administration Committee; 017-000-000
  3/3/2010HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/10/2010HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/10/2010HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/11/2010HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 114-000-000
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael G. Connelly
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John D. Cavaletto
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. JoAnn D. Osmond
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandy Cole
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Renée Kosel
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Cross
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Bassi
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ron Stephens
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Timothy L. Schmitz
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Cross
  3/11/2010HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Cross
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry L. Mitchell
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard P. Myers
  3/11/2010SenateArrive in Senate
  3/11/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading March 12, 2010
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Mulligan
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Sacia
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chapin Rose
  3/12/2010SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Matt Murphy
  3/15/2010SenateFirst Reading
  3/15/2010SenateReferred to Assignments
  3/15/2010SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Kyle McCarter
  4/6/2010SenateAssigned to Executive
  4/15/2010SenateDo Pass Executive; 012-000-000
  4/15/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading April 20, 2010
  4/15/2010SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan Duffy
  4/21/2010SenateSecond Reading
  4/21/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 22, 2010
  4/27/2010SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Randall M. Hultgren
  4/27/2010SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. John J. Millner
  4/27/2010SenateThird Reading - Passed; 054-000-000
  4/27/2010HousePassed Both Houses
  5/26/2010HouseSent to the Governor
  7/23/2010HouseGovernor Amendatory Veto
  11/10/2010HousePlaced on Calendar Amendatory Veto November 16, 2010
  11/10/2010HouseMotion Filed Override Amendatory Veto Rep. David Reis
  11/16/2010House3/5 Vote Required
  11/16/2010HouseOverride Amendatory Veto - House Passed 091-022-000
  11/23/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Amendatory Veto November 30, 2010
  11/30/2010SenateMotion Filed Override Amendatory Veto Sen. Matt Murphy
  12/2/2010SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Ronald Sandack
  12/2/2010Senate3/5 Vote Required
  12/2/2010SenateOverride Amendatory Veto - Senate Lost 024-023-000
  12/8/2010HouseBill Dead - No Positive Action Taken - Amendatory Veto

Back To Top