Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HJRCA0015
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HJRCA0015  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Ryan Spain - Jim Durkin - Linda Chapa LaVia - Tim Butler - Frances Ann Hurley, Lindsay Parkhurst, Dan Brady, Avery Bourne, Andrew S. Chesney, Mike Murphy, Amy Grant, Margo McDermed, Dan Caulkins, Norine K. Hammond, Grant Wehrli, Keith R. Wheeler, Jeff Keicher, Michael D. Unes, Patrick Windhorst, Darren Bailey, Terri Bryant, Keith P. Sommer, Dan Ugaste, Daniel Swanson, Deanne M. Mazzochi and Dave Severin

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 3 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Removes the requirement for each Legislative District to be divided into two Representative Districts. Modifies provisions concerning legislative redistricting. Provides specified requirements for each Legislative District, Representative District, and Congressional District for redistricting purposes. Replaces the current method of legislative redistricting with the following: a sixteen-member commission, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the most senior Supreme Court Justice of a different political party in accordance with specified criteria, shall adopt and file with the Secretary of State redistricting plans for Legislative, Representative, and Congressional Districts following a series of public hearings by August 1 of the year following a federal decennial census; permits the public to submit maps during the map drawing process for consideration by the Commission; and, if a redistricting plan is not adopted by August 1 of the year following a federal decennial census, then a seventeenth member shall be appointed to the Commission and redistricting plans shall be filed by September 1. Adds provisions concerning the membership of the Commission and budgetary matters related to the Commission. Effective upon being declared adopted and applicable to redistricting beginning in 2021 and to the election of General Assembly members beginning in 2022.

DateChamber Action
  1/29/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ryan Spain
  1/29/2019HouseRead in Full a First Time
  1/29/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/29/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
  1/29/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  2/1/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  2/6/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst
  2/7/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  2/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Avery Bourne
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Murphy
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael D. Unes
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  2/11/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Darren Bailey
  2/15/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terri Bryant
  2/20/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  3/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  4/10/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  1/31/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  2/19/2020HouseMotion Filed - Table Bill/Resolution Pursuant to Rule 60(b), Rep. Ryan Spain
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top