Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HJRCA0027
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HJRCA0027  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. - Bradley Stephens - Terra Costa Howard - Monica Bristow - Mary Edly-Allen, Margo McDermed, Dave Severin, Mark Batinick, Terri Bryant, Dan Ugaste, Allen Skillicorn, Dan Caulkins, Sam Yingling, Martin J. Moylan, Michael P. McAuliffe, Joe Sosnowski, Patrick Windhorst and Thomas Morrison

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. VIII, Sec. 2 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Finance Article of the Illinois Constitution. Provides that expenditures shall not exceed proposed revenue (rather than funds) estimated to be available for a fiscal year. Provides that except for deficiency or emergency appropriations, all appropriations are expendable only during the fiscal year for which they were appropriated. Provides that no public money shall be expended except as provided by appropriations made by law. Provides that expenditures for any fiscal year shall not exceed the State's revenues and reserves, including proceeds of any debt obligation, for that year. Provides that no debt obligation, except as shall be repaid within the fiscal year of issuance, shall be authorized for the current operation of any State service or program, nor shall the proceeds of any debt obligation be expended for a purpose other than that for which it was authorized. Provides that any law requiring the expenditure of State funds shall be null and void unless, during the session in which the act receives final passage, an appropriation is made for the estimated first-year's funding. Defines "revenue". Effective upon being declared adopted.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/15/2019HouseRead in Full a First Time
  2/15/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Costello, II
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Monica Bristow
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terri Bryant
  2/28/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  3/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  3/5/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  3/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  3/13/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  6/1/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  7/18/2019HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Bradley Stephens
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top