Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0355
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB0355  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  ELECTIONS-TECH

Senate Sponsors
Sen. Deanna Demuzio - Mattie Hunter - Donne E. Trotter - Dale A. Righter and Dale E. Risinger

House Sponsors
(Rep. Elaine Nekritz - Paul D. Froehlich - Karen A. Yarbrough - Fred Crespo - Michael K. Smith, Mark L. Walker, Monique D. Davis, Jack D. Franks, Naomi D. Jakobsson, William D. Burns, Deborah Mell, Lisa M. Dugan, Patrick J. Verschoore, Michael J. Zalewski, Karen May, Lou Lang, Barbara Flynn Currie, Greg Harris, John A. Fritchey and David E. Miller)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/17/2010SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0886

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/1-1from Ch. 46, par. 1-1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the short title.

Senate Floor Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
10 ILCS 5/1-1
Adds reference to:
10 ILCS 5/2A-1.1from Ch. 46, par. 2A-1.1
10 ILCS 5/7A-1
25 ILCS 115/4from Ch. 63, par. 15.1
25 ILCS 130/9-2.5

Deletes everything after the enacting clause. Amends the Election Code, the General Assembly Compensation Act, and the Legislative Commission Reorganization Act of 1984. Changes the general primary election from the first Tuesday in February of even-numbered years to the third Tuesday in March of even-numbered years. Makes conforming changes with respect to printing and mailing of legislators' newsletters and brochures. Requires that declarations of judicial retention be filed not less than 6 months before the general election (now, by the first Monday in December of the year before the general election).

DateChamber Action
  2/6/2009SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. John J. Cullerton
  2/6/2009SenateFirst Reading
  2/6/2009SenateReferred to Assignments
  3/5/2009SenateAssigned to Executive
  3/12/2009SenateDo Pass Executive; 012-000-000
  3/12/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 17, 2009
  4/3/2009SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As April 30, 2009
  4/23/2009SenateSecond Reading
  4/23/2009SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 28, 2009
  8/15/2009SenatePursuant to Senate Rule 3-9(b) / Referred to Assignments
  2/23/2010SenateApproved for Consideration Assignments
  2/23/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading February 24, 2010
  2/24/2010SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Deanna Demuzio
  2/24/2010SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Secretary by Sen. Deanna Demuzio
  2/24/2010SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Assignments
  2/24/2010SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Assignments Refers to Executive
  2/24/2010SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommend Do Adopt Executive; 012-000-000
  2/24/2010SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  2/24/2010SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Donne E. Trotter
  2/24/2010SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale A. Righter
  2/24/2010SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale E. Risinger
  2/24/2010SenateRecalled to Second Reading
  2/24/2010SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted; Demuzio
  2/24/2010SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading
  2/24/2010SenateThird Reading - Passed; 054-000-000
  2/25/2010HouseArrived in House
  2/25/2010HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Madigan
  2/25/2010HousePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  2/25/2010HouseAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  2/25/2010HouseFirst Reading
  2/25/2010HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/25/2010HouseAssigned to Elections & Campaign Reform Committee
  2/25/2010HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul D. Froehlich
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael K. Smith
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Monique D. Davis
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. William D. Burns
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah Mell
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J. Verschoore
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Greg Harris
  3/4/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. John A. Fritchey
  3/10/2010HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Elections & Campaign Reform Committee; 009-000-000
  3/10/2010HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/10/2010HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/10/2010HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  3/11/2010HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/11/2010HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 114-001-001
  3/11/2010HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. David E. Miller
  3/11/2010SenatePassed Both Houses
  3/12/2010SenateSent to the Governor
  3/17/2010SenateGovernor Approved
  3/17/2010SenateEffective Date January 1, 2011
  3/17/2010SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 96-0886

Back To Top