Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB2495
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB2495  103rd General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Kyle McCarter - Darin M. LaHood - William R. Haine, Thomas Johnson, Shane Cultra, Ron Sandack, Christine Radogno, Wm. Sam McCann, Suzi Schmidt, Kirk W. Dillard, Pamela J. Althoff, Dan Duffy, Chris Lauzen, Tim Bivins, John J. Millner, Matt Murphy, William E. Brady, Dave Syverson, Christine J. Johnson, Dale A. Righter, David S. Luechtefeld, John O. Jones, Carole Pankau, Larry K. Bomke and Sue Rezin

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
750 ILCS 75/65 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Religious Freedom Protection and Civil Union Act. Provides that a child welfare agency that is religiously based or owned by, operated by, or affiliated with a bona fide religious organization may decline an adoption or foster family home application, including any related licensure and placement, from a party to a civil union if acceptance of that application would constitute a violation of the organization's sincerely held religious beliefs and, if an agency declines an application, it must provide the applicant with information on how to contact the Department of Children and Family Services to obtain information concerning other regional licensed child welfare agencies. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  10/12/2011SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Kyle McCarter
  10/12/2011SenateFirst Reading
  10/12/2011SenateReferred to Assignments
  10/18/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Darin M. LaHood
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. William R. Haine
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Johnson
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Shane Cultra
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ron Sandack
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christine Radogno
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Wm. Sam McCann
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Suzi Schmidt
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kirk W. Dillard
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan Duffy
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chris Lauzen
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Tim Bivins
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John J. Millner
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Matt Murphy
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William E. Brady
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christine J. Johnson
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale A. Righter
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David S. Luechtefeld
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John O. Jones
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Carole Pankau
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Larry K. Bomke
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  1/31/2012SenateAssigned to Executive
  2/9/2012SenateTo Executive Subcommittee on Civil Rights
  3/9/2012SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As March 30, 2012
  3/23/2012SenateHeld in Executive; Subcommittee on Civil Rights
  3/30/2012SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top