Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0193
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB0193  93rd General Assembly

Short Description:  PEN CD-TRS-ERO-EXTEND DATE

Senate Sponsors
Sen. Denny Jacobs - George P. Shadid - Dan Cronin - Kimberly A. Lightford, John O. Jones, Dale E. Risinger, Richard J. Winkel, Jr., Larry K. Bomke, Bill Brady, James F. Clayborne, Jr., Dan Rutherford, Christine Radogno, Wendell E. Jones, Dave Sullivan, M. Maggie Crotty and Don Harmon

House Sponsors
(Rep. Gary Hannig - Thomas Holbrook - William Davis - Brandon W. Phelps - Naomi D. Jakobsson, Michael K. Smith, Gary Forby, Karen A. Yarbrough, Jack D. Franks, Mike Boland, Jay C. Hoffman, John E. Bradley, Careen Gordon, William J. Grunloh, Lisa M. Dugan, Robert F. Flider, Dan Reitz, Jim Watson, Kathleen A. Ryg, Karen May, Elaine Nekritz, Patricia Reid Lindner, Sidney H. Mathias, William B. Black and Raymond Poe)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
40 ILCS 5/16-133.2from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 16-133.2
30 ILCS 805/8.27 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Downstate Teachers Article of the Illinois Pension Code. Extends the deadline for application for early retirement without discount from June 30, 2005 to June 30, 2010; also reduces the required contribution for some members. Amends the State Mandates Act to require implementation without reimbursement. Effective immediately.

 Pension Note (Pension Laws Commission)
 TRS estimates that the provisions of SB 193 will increase the accrued liability of the System by $505.6 million. The increase in annual cost has not been calculated but is expected to be substantial.

DateChamber Action
  2/4/2003SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Denny Jacobs
  2/4/2003SenateFirst Reading
  2/4/2003SenateReferred to Rules
  2/6/2003SenateAssigned to Insurance & Pensions
  2/11/2003SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. George P. Shadid
  2/19/2003SenateDo Pass Insurance & Pensions; 010-000-000
  2/19/2003SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading February 26, 2003
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan Cronin
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John O. Jones
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale E. Risinger
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Richard J. Winkel, Jr.
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Larry K. Bomke
  2/19/2003SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  2/20/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Brady
  2/20/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. James F. Clayborne, Jr.
  2/20/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan Rutherford
  2/21/2003SenatePension Note Filed As Introduced
  2/26/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christine Radogno
  2/28/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Wendell E. Jones
  3/5/2003SenateSecond Reading
  3/5/2003SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 6, 2003
  3/5/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Sullivan
  3/18/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. M. Maggie Crotty
  3/19/2003SenateThird Reading - Passed; 055-000-000
  3/19/2003HouseArrived in House
  3/19/2003HousePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  3/20/2003SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Don Harmon
  3/24/2003HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Gary Hannig
  3/25/2003HouseFirst Reading
  3/25/2003HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/28/2003HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  3/31/2003HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  4/4/2003HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  4/14/2003HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  4/14/2003HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  4/14/2003HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael K. Smith
  4/16/2003HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Gary Forby
  5/2/2003HouseCommittee/3rd Reading Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b); May 31, 2003
  5/16/2003HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  6/1/2003HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/3/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/3/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  4/20/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay C. Hoffman
  4/22/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. John E. Bradley
  4/22/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Careen Gordon
  4/22/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. William J. Grunloh
  4/22/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  4/22/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert F. Flider
  5/13/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Reitz
  5/13/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  5/20/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen A. Ryg
  5/20/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  5/20/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  5/24/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia Reid Lindner
  5/30/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  6/9/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. William B. Black
  10/26/2004HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Committee Rep. William B. Black
  11/1/2004HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  11/18/2004HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Committee Rep. William B. Black
  11/18/2004HouseMotion Discharge Committee Lost by Voice Vote
  1/11/2005SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top